cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Accelerators do they help?

PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Broadband Accelerators do they help?

I don't seem to have a 'test' socket in the BT home master plate, anyone know if replacing the master plate with a broadband accelerator plate would help ?
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

I assume you mean an iPlate
That can only be fitted where you have an NTE master socket with the lower half removable
brokenthumb
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎22-10-2010

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

To add to Oldjim's post ... .. .
http://www.shop.bt.com/articles/promotions/product-promotions/bt-i-plate---will-it-work-for-me--5124...
All they do is remove the bellwire, if indeed it is even attached, something which, with a little confidence you can do yourself, for free!
http://www.jarviser.co.uk/jarviser/bellwirenutshell.html
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Quote from: Oldjim
I assume you mean an iPlate
That can only be fitted where you have an NTE master socket with the lower half removable

Have just double checked the master socket, and it seems it DOES have a test socket behind the faceplate, so, I presume I can fit an accelerator Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

the first thing to do is to try the router in the test socket and record the stats in the test socket, normal master socket and where you normally have it plugged in.
The stats are noise margin, attenuation and speeds
Also are there any wires attached to the removable front plate and, if so, how many connections are used.
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Quote from: Oldjim
the first thing to do is to try the router in the test socket and record the stats in the test socket, normal master socket and where you normally have it plugged in.
The stats are noise margin, attenuation and speeds
Also are there any wires attached to the removable front plate and, if so, how many connections are used.

If I remove the front plate there are 4 wires connected to it
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Four wires to 4 slots or 4 wires - 2 each to two slots
I suspect 4 wires to four slots and you only need slots 2 and 5
Have a read here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

this picture may help more
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

You should only have the wires connected to slots 2 and 5 as explained here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Thank you very much for your help, will remove the wires connected to pins 3 & 4 and see if it improves my PN performance Smiley
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Quote from: Oldjim
You should only have the wires connected to slots 2 and 5 as explained here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm

Only thing I'm worried about is will ALL the DECT phones work in the house if I remove the wires to pins 3 & 4 ?Huh
If the answer is yes, then I shall proceed in the removal of the said wires Smiley
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Yes if the base station is plugged into a ADSL filter, which they must be.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

You haven't posted the stats from your router
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

Thank you again, will remove the wires and see performance for the rest of the week, and post another update then Smiley
PamWest
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎13-01-2011

Re: Broadband Accelerators do they help?

I'll post the stats tonight after it's been on the 2 wire connection, hopefully it may show a difference in performance then