cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Block device on WLAN

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Block device on WLAN

I want to stop a specific device connecting to my network on my 585 v7 but I can't remove the tick in the 'Allowed on WLAN' box. any ideas?
Thanks
PT
18 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

Have you tried using the firewall on the V7 to block all then allow devices by MAC address instead?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

thanks Adam, but thats too much aggro as too many devices are already allowed. I just don't understand why i cant remove the tick in allow on WLAN
PT
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

I don't have that router but one possibility is to disable MAC filtering (change to allow all) then try to remove the device and then reinstate the filtering
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

Thanks, Its already set to allow all. I did try removing the offending device and then setting it to no new devices but the router just threw a wobbly and rebooted and let the device straight back on!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

I'd be trying a factory reset of the router as the next step.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

which will also remove all your other allowed divices
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

factory reset still doesn't allow me to deselect 'Allowed on WLAN:'
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

You may have to do it using the Command Line Interface
attached is the command for the v6 and it probably isn't any different
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

I've just spoken to our resident hardware expert who tells me that it's also possible to do this via CLI (command line)
Disable MAC address filtering on wifi (allow all devices except those explicitly denied)
:wireless macacl config control unlock
Enable MAC address filtering on wifi (lock for any device not in list)
:wireless macacl config control lock
:wireless add hwaddr aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa permission allow
Deny Wifi to specific MAC address (no need for filtering to be enabled)
:wireless add hwaddr aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa permission deny
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

thanks both, getting to the end of my ability and endurance with that!
might put the 582n I have in place and see if that's any more intuitive.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

Can't you simply set the network subnet to a different value on the device you want to exclude ?
So if your existing network is say  192.168.001.nnn,  then change the network settings on the device to be excluded to say  192.168.123.nnn
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

I would like to be able to turn access on and off (preferably easily) without messing around with the device itself
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

Why don't you buy a wireless access point ("WAP") and plug that into a spare ethernet port on your router.
Set the WAP to your existing wireless configuration but on a different wireless channel number.
On your router change the existing SSID to something new.
Change all your other devices to use the new SSID.
When you want the excluded device to be enabled then switch the WAP on, and when you don't then switch it off.
Simples !
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Block device on WLAN

simple but costs money and not as simple as unchecking a box to allow the device on the LAN which the router seems to offer but it doesn't work  Angry