cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion 7800N

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Billion 7800N

Hi wonder if anyone can shed light on my problem ? I'm on an EO line in a rural area with attenuation 57 syncing at 3.8 an IP profile of 3 but no matter what time I do a speed test the best I get is 1.9 hope this makes sense cheers

30 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

What's your Plusnet Current Line speed?  .. https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

If that's not 3meg then you need to get Plusnet to give it a kick, if it is correct or once Plusnet have fixed it, you'll need to do a PPP disconnect/reconnect to bring the profile into play.   If the 7800N is the same as the 7800DXL then this is from Status / WAN on the router web page.

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

thats interesting it says 2 mb but my sync and IP profile are higher

Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

Possibly your router briefly connected at a lower speed, below 2848 if you're on the 20CN "up to 8meg" Max service.  If that happened BT will have dropped the profile, then reinstated after your speed had recovered for a while.  Plusnet is supposed to pick up these changes, but that doesn't always happen.  

Unless someone responds to this ticket you'll need to raise a call, possible could be done over web chat rather than the dreaded phone wait, and get them to reset your profile.   Then do the disconnect/reconnect once you can see the correct "Current Line Speed"

 
noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

Thanks for that info , until BT dug up the junction box my profile had been 3 to 3.5

Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

If you can get your router to synch at or above 4000 then you should get the 3.5meg profile.   Depending on error rates, you might think of tweaking the SNR a touch, but of course that might bite you in the backside if it increases errors to the extent that BT increases the target.

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

raised a ticket but no joy yet Sad

Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

I don't know if they respond to tickets at weekends, but even if they do there's some target of 3 days or something to get back to you.  You could try hassling them on web chat.

Disappointing that Plusnet haven't picked this case up from the forum, but maybe the subject doesn't help.  Can you edit the original subject?

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

see what you mean but don't seem to have the option

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

although I may have made matters worse by doing a reset on the router and got the log in wrong so by the time I corrected it the noise margin had gone even higher

Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

Do you mean you think the target noise margin has increased, by which I mean your router connects with a margin of 9dB in the first instance instead of 6dB?

If so and assuming the error rates are OK, and assuming you can get Plusnet on the case, you can get them to reset the profile back to 6dB (I'm going to guess you'd want interleaving as well given your line length).   If you can't get the error stats off the router, get Plusnet to check from their end, they should be able to see your "Indicative Line Quality".   Or just get them to reset the profile and see what happens.

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

yes after openreach messed about the margin went up to 9 then with my unhelpful messing today it's gone up to 14

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

until this episode it's been very stable so fingers crossed

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Billion 7800N

If you are interested in viewing the detailed error stats for your 7800N, you can do the following -

(assuming that your 7800N is on address 192.168.1.1 - if not change the address entry to suit your router)

 

Open the command line terminal for your operating system, then -

telnet 192.168.1.1
Login: YourRoutersUsername
Password: YourRoutersPassword
> adsl info --show

That will provide the following sort of detail -

adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Max:           Upstream rate = 1300 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12224 Kbps
Channel: FAST, Upstream rate =  448 Kbps, Downstream rate =  8128 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   G.DMT 
TPS-TC:                 ATM Mode
Trellis:                ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        15.6            17.0
Attn(dB):        10.0            8.5
Pwr(dBm):        15.8            12.3
                        G.dmt framing
K:              255(0)          27
R:              0               0
S:              1               1
D:              1               1
                        Counters
SF:             16057498        16057620
SFErr:          0               0
RS:             0               0
RSCorr:         0               0
RSUnCorr:       0               0

HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    937795337       0
Data Cells:     297717539       0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
AS:             272980

INP:            0.00            0.00
PER:            1.75            1.75
delay:          0.25            0.25
OR:             32.00           32.00

Bitswap:        0               117

 

Another command that shows some useful historical error results is -

> adsl info --stats

 

When you are done with accessing the routers stats, you logout using -

> logout

 

Wink

noddy8
Grafter
Posts: 88
Thanks: 3
Registered: 22-07-2015

Re: Billion 7800N

Thanks for that but I can't get it to work doesn't seem to recognise telnet