cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Banded?

redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Banded?

After suffering intermittent dropped ADSL connections for 2 weeks I traced the problem to a defective power supply on my Netgear DG834 wired modem/router. I replaced the power supply and my connection has been stable for the last 3 days but my download speed is still 5.68 mbps compared to 12.29 mbps a few months ago. My line attenuation is 22. Has my line been banded? Would someone from Plusnet kindly check and restore my previous faster download/upload speeds? Here are my Netgear stats:

30 Oct 2019
System Up Time 620:31:09
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 12264736 14692162 0 907 912 620:30:14
LAN 10M/100M 14598780 12495440 0 1009 1046 620:31:05

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 10777 kbps 1078 kbps
Line Attenuation 21 db 3 db
Noise Margin 8 db 6 db
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
26 July 2020
System Up Time 57:34:16
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 82807 173552 0 1668 44289 01:24:36
LAN 10M/100M 2251759 1209155 0 11655 1509 57:34:12

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 6652 kbps 444 kbps
Line Attenuation 22 db 5 db
Noise Margin 10 db 2147483647 db

 

 

 

54 REPLIES 54
redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Plusnet - anybody home?

Repeating yesterday's message:

After suffering intermittent dropped ADSL connections for 2 weeks I traced the problem to a defective power supply on my Netgear DG834 wired modem/router. I replaced the power supply and my connection has been stable for the last 3 days but my download speed is still 5.68 mbps compared to 12.29 mbps a few months ago. My line attenuation is 22. Has my line been banded? Would someone from Plusnet kindly check and restore my previous faster download/upload speeds? Here are my Netgear stats:

30 Oct 2019
System Up Time 620:31:09
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 12264736 14692162 0 907 912 620:30:14
LAN 10M/100M 14598780 12495440 0 1009 1046 620:31:05

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 10777 kbps 1078 kbps
Line Attenuation 21 db 3 db
Noise Margin 8 db 6 db
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
26 July 2020
System Up Time 57:34:16
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 82807 173552 0 1668 44289 01:24:36
LAN 10M/100M 2251759 1209155 0 11655 1509 57:34:12

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 6652 kbps 444 kbps
Line Attenuation 22 db 5 db
Noise Margin 10 db 2147483647 db

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,463
Thanks: 6,619
Fixes: 1,482
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet - anybody home?


Moderators Note


Topics on same subject merged 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
BD
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,359
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎24-04-2017

Re: Banded?

Together with our network partners at Openreach we will try to provide you with the best speeds possible. If you feel this is not the case, please raise your speed fault online at faults.plus.net

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,629
Thanks: 5,236
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Banded?

@redsox9 I appreciate there has been a PN staff response on here, but re-reading your original post, these figures don't make sense: Noise Margin 10 db 2147483647 db - with a margin like that, nothing would work.

Can you do a further check and post the results?

John
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1,370
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Banded?

@jab1  The  huge figure is a quirk of the router , it is actually incorrectly displaying a small negative number showing there may be line problems.  A resync should improve the downstream speed.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,629
Thanks: 5,236
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Banded?

@RealAleMadrid Thanks. It's a long time since I had a Netgear, I forgot they had funny habits.

To add: If there are possible line problems, should they not be investigated before time is wasted over a re-sync?

John
redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Banded?

Thanks for suggesting a resynch. I disconnected using the router interface, waited 7 minutes and then rebooted, again through the router interface. Nothing has changed. The latest stats:

System Up Time 00:03:29
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 243 362 0 455 1040 00:02:10
LAN 10M/100M 739 1257 0 1627 940 00:03:25

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 6652 kbps 444 kbps
Line Attenuation 21 db 5 db
Noise Margin 13 db 2147483647 db

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,629
Thanks: 5,236
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Banded?

@redsox9 You do have a problem - your downstream SNR is high, your upstream is low.

Do you have a phone. Dial 17070 option 2 and check for any noise. IF there is any, report a phone problem, not a broadband one. Phone problems cause BB problems, and need to be fixed before investigation of anything else.

John
redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Banded?

Thanks, John.  The quiet line test is ok.  I will do more equipment tests.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,738
Thanks: 9,458
Fixes: 151
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Banded?

@redsox9 

Please follow @BD advice and raise an online fault report.  You might be banded, but it will be for some reason which might not be the one which you believe it to be.

On a 22dB line with a good router plugged into the master socket you might well expect to see 19.5mbps.  22dB suggests that you are 1.6km from the exchange - is that correct?

On that basis, the "before" stats do not look overly good for your line, so getting you back there might well still leave you with an unidentified issue.  You are seeing a little more than half of that and the SNRM was 8dB.  Target SNRM would be either 6dB or 9dB - if 6dB then 8dB indicates that there is less noise on the line than when it previously re-scyn'd or if 9dB the the noise level has increased.  Would you know what time of day the router previously re-sync'd and what time of day those previous stats were gathered?

I suspect there is more going on here than you had a duff power supply.  Netgear DG834 plays nicely with routerstats (see below) you might wish to download that an establish some monitoring of the noise on the line ... as well as raising the requested fault report.

Do you have another router you could try?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Banded?

Thanks, Townman. I do have another Netgear DG834 router which I will try out. I suspect that the faulty power supply damaged something in my current router which connects without any dropouts but not at the speed it used to attain. Many moons ago Jojo, who is sorely missed, simply reset my line and the problem went away. But these are unusual times.

redsox9
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Banded?

Hi Townman. Yes I am 1.6km from the exchange. I replaced my router and will submit a fault. Here are the latest stats:


System Up Time 00:17:33
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 8448 11250 0 1364 13632 00:13:52
LAN 10M/100M 12059 10663 0 11290 1529 00:17:29

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 6652 kbps 444 kbps
Line Attenuation 22 db 5 db
Noise Margin 13 db 28 db

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,738
Thanks: 9,458
Fixes: 151
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Banded?

Those figures look more sensible. Indeed resetting the line might clear things, but that’s not something likely to happen without a line check which will be performed by the fault reporting process. The question to be explored is why you need repeated resets.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,629
Thanks: 5,236
Fixes: 245
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Banded?

@Townman I agree those figures look better, although the upstream SNR looks strange at 28dB, especially given that previous reports suggested a negative value.

John