cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad Ping to UK servers?

Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Bad Ping to UK servers?

I pay £11.49 a month  and get around 5mb down and 0.3mbps up. I connect via ethernet cable to mydesktop. I'm the only one using the connection, and I have no downloads running. I have a Belkin ADSL modem with wireless G router.
I've been having really horrible ping times to servers in the UK area. This is not a common issue for others in my country accessing these same servers. The average ping time for others in my general area to these servers ranges between 100 and 300ms. I myself am getting ping times to these same servers of 400+ ms. The ping times are so bad that I am not able to use the software connecting to these servers properly; it lags and goes slow. I'm the only one to be experiencing these ping issues for this specific software connecting to the servers.
Is there any testing that can be done to diagnose what could be causing this? I'm unsure of whether or not it is my personal hardware issues, or if it's a problem on my ISPs side.
Any help would be appreciated
Thanks
11 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,296
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

I presume these are game servers?    What games?  If not, some more info about them please?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Hey thanks for the swift reply.
It's not a game server it's software. It's essentially a a program that controls the computers mouse and keyboard and views the screen and sends back what it sees to a server which then in turn sends back commands of instructions for what to do with the mouse/keyboard.
The program I know checks what it's looking at 3 times before every action is carried out by the mouse and keyboard but i'm being told that i'm averaging 430+ ping.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,296
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

What's the software called?  and what product are you on?  It's likely our traffic management servers aren't identifying the software properly and it isn't being treated properly. 
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

It's called Robotz In Disguise. It's a program designed by a professional Java programmer that is intended to automate actions on a MMORPG.
Would you need any more information on the website?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,190
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

aka a MMO bot, you do know bots are usually infected with trojans.  That is more than likely why you are getting high pings as your pc is infected, as it is now part of a bot net.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Don't worry there is nothing malicious about this program.
Edit - Just to also add that my computer is 100% secure.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,296
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Very likely that we aren't capturing it right.   If you get us a wireshark of it, we may be able to get it fixed.  The other option is to the the Pro add on, which should see it working fine.
http://community.plus.net/library/faults/using-wireshark-for-data-capture/
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Quote from: Kelly
Very likely that we aren't capturing it right.   If you get us a wireshark of it, we may be able to get it fixed.  The other option is to the the Pro add on, which should see it working fine.
http://community.plus.net/library/faults/using-wireshark-for-data-capture/

Right, I'll get straight on it!  Crazy Will be back with results.
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

http://www.mediafire.com/?rclq7lza1i43q7i
That's my wireshark capture of when I started the connection to the server.
--------------------------
@Gus
https://secure.buyershield.com/verify/robotzindisguise.com/?i=1c
https://profile.globalsign.com/SiteSeal/siteSeal/profile/profile.do?p1=7e1e1d57&p2=c937b935db277c710...
This software has been verified as safe from Java experts since 2007. They have over 100,000 registers members on their site. It is definitely NOT malicious
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,296
Thanks: 624
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Hmm.  Nothing wrong with the categorisation by the traffic management.  It's not that causing the problem.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Bradley
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎27-12-2010

Re: Bad Ping to UK servers?

Is there anything else it can be? It's just frustrating i'm getting such high ping times.