cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BTW Test can't get ip profile

manwar51
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎15-01-2014

BTW Test can't get ip profile

Just went live today with plusnet with a new line and number got fibre, went over to bt wholesale speed test speeds were round 48mb so went onto further diagnostics typed my phone number in and i get the error
The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider
Can this be sorted out so i can check my ip profile please thanks
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,320
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

For a new line I believe it can take 'a couple of days' for the BTW database to be updated in order to get this info.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

As above, we're still waiting for our suppliers systems to propagate with your new line details, it can take a few days.
If you're still having issues come next Monday - let us know and we'll get this looked into for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
manwar51
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎15-01-2014

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

can you check my sync speed and tell me that way?
thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

Unfortunately not.
Your order is still showing as open on our suppliers systems which is causing the delay in getting the details updated. I'm speaking to our suppliers now to get this closed so the details should automatically propagate within 2-3 days.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,861
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

manwar51 - is your btw ip profile appear now since your fttc went live?
I had the same problem with mine too. Since FTTC went live on 13th February and the BTw under further diagnostics with both Telephone Number of the broadband circuit and Broadband circuit Service ID doesn't work (both come back saying: Test Error The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider.
It's been like this for 11 days now as I spoken to the fault team but they say to me these are not important and don't need this and refuse to investigated it with BT. They told me to use normal speedtest in different site. They seem don't understand that IP Profile is important to me, because the IP Profile could be changing time to time. Without this, there is no way of knowing this. But, Chris Pettitt told me the last post that I have to wait until 27th this month to see if it does appear, if not, I will raise this with him directly. Cannot believe that the fault team doesn't want to investigate it on my behalf. They say it nothing to do with BTw or BT or Plusnet supplier. They say it my website cause the error. That's rubbish. Cos it working before on my older ADSL and ADSL2+. Not my pc or website.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

Goldenfibre,
That's simply not the case. Our Faults Team are there to deal with Broadband Faults and Telephone Faults that are service affecting. There are instances where our suppliers systems can take some time to propagate your line details, especially if FTTC has only recently been made available in the area.
As I've mentioned, If you still can't see this detail on 27th, I'll get this looked at as our suppliers should have had more than enough time. It's not that we don't care that it doesn't work as that's really not the case, we just like to give our suppliers time to get everything in order before raising problems with them.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
digitalham
Rising Star
Posts: 97
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-12-2013

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

The tester can on occasion fail to give the IP profile - I think because the backend database or the connection to it fails and after a considerable delay it simply says it can't provide the info.
There was a thread on this the other day and I gave it a whirl myself with no success although it had worked shortly after my own service was activated. I tried again just now and it is working for me at the moment so probably worth another check.
My Plusnet reported line speed is the same as the downstream profile.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

@ Chris
Sorry to hijack this thread - can check to see if my fault has been raised with BTw (http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,122866.msg1077818.html) for FTTP users being able to access the Further Diagnostics page? It's been down for all FTTP users (irrespective of ISP) for about 2 months now, unless you have your circuit ID. BTw should be aware of the problem - I hope! Thanks.
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,861
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

@ Chris, Thanks Chris.
I will contact you again on Thursday, 27th Feb if the BTw test still not working for IP Profile check.
Melancholie
Grafter
Posts: 451
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎23-07-2013

Re: BTW Test can't get ip profile

He didn't say that at all. He said that IP profile adjusts every time sync speed does but that Plusnet's mirroring of the IP profile for QoS purposes can cause customer experience to not reflect the current IP profile.
Think logically for a minute. How could Plusnet prevent Openreach from providing BT Wholesale with line information and in turn BT Wholesale updating their systems to reflect that data?