cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT and Congestion in their network

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

BT and Congestion in their network

I do like reading things from AAISP like this: http://status.aa.net.uk/1890
I am slightly bewildered how an ISP can pick up something like this and BT cannot see it within their own network...
4 REPLIES
davidj66
Rising Star
Posts: 632
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: BT and Congestion in their network

From my own recent experiences on 21CN I suspect that Openreach/BTW know of exchange congestion issues....but don''t admit to them unless the problem is going to be long term  ongoing!
I had peak time/weekend slowdowns for a couple of weeks, and during that time I saw Openreach engineers working at cabs and the local exchange...but nothing published by anyone! Roll eyes
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: BT and Congestion in their network

Indeed - that does seem to be the case...
I found this blog post from the owner of AAISP (which is quite revealing actually...) - http://revk.www.me.uk/2014/02/bt-21cn-not-fit-for-purpose.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: BT and Congestion in their network

There's another one where BTw say "3% packet loss is not considered as a fault" on an idle line - http://revk.www.me.uk/2014/02/bt-official-3-packet-loss-is-not-fault.html
Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,516
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: BT and Congestion in their network

I like the blog's mention of using TalkTalk backhaul, whatever that may mean for ordinary Joe Soap. For PN, BT owned, that would be treason??!Cheesy
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.