cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Wholesale broadband speed test not working

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,823
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@TheMightyAJ whoever designed this BT Wholesale Performance Test should be sacked because of unfit for purpose. Very poor and outdated overall. I have no issues with my broadband. But sometimes, the fault team and the supplier ask everyones on many ISPs to use this BTw PT for evidence to BTw with speed test result.

I think BTw it time to scrap this outdated and replaced a new one with non flash and non java version.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,900
Thanks: 2,798
Fixes: 441
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

The BT speedtester should’ve been updated to HTML5 yesterday, and a quick test on my non-Flash supported iPhone shows that this is indeed the case as the test is running.

Do you mind me asking what browsers you all were using? As I’d like to go back to our suppliers to investigate further.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,823
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf All browser doesn't seem right at all. I will try my tablet to see what happen. As I can plugged my tablet ethernet straight to the router to get the result of the speed throughput. I will updated later with all browser speed results here

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,413
Thanks: 1,178
Fixes: 91
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Same here. Upload inordinately low. Using Chrome on Android 9.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,823
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

@Gandalf

Here is results:

Google Chrome v68.0.3440.106 64 bit:
Download Speed(Mbps): 69.28 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 0.92 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 65 ms

Vivaldi v1.15.1147.64 32 bit:
Download Speed(Mbps): 68.95 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.55 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 54 ms

Pale Moon v27.9.4 (64-bit):
Please wait while we test your service...
(it just stay there nothing happen) been try three times, the same result)

Opera V12.17 Build1863 Platform Win32:
Download Speed(Mbps): 68.95 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.55 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 54 ms

Internet Explorer 11 v11.165.17134.0 update versions: 11.0.75 (KB4339093):
Download Speed(Mbps): 69.03 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.61 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 54 ms

Firefox Quantum v61.0.2 64 bit:
Download Speed(Mbps): 68.85 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.40 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 76 ms

Microsoft Edge 42.17134.1.0 Microsoft EdgeHTML 17.17134 64 bit:
Download Speed(Mbps): 69.31 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 1.73 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 24 ms

Android Tablet using Chrome via ethernet:
Download Speed(Mbps): 69.71 Mbps
Upload Speed(Mbps) : 0.73 Mbps
Ping Latency(ms): 94 ms

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,823
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

BTw Broadband Diagnostic Test seem so strange on internet explorer:

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

  Download Speed
  4.1 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 77.35 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 4.1 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-77.35 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 77.35 Mbps


2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  12.29 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 12.29Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,900
Thanks: 2,798
Fixes: 441
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Thanks for the comprehensive update! I’m going to email our suppliers later on today once I’ve put something together. Will aim to keep this thread updated.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
chusan
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 23-04-2010

Re: BT Wholesale broadband speed test not working

Hi
 
The original opening page where you put your phone number is missing. The front page now just ask you to click in the "yes" box and then start the test. BT must have changed something recently so perhaps as PlusNet is owned by BT someone from PlusNet could discuss it with BT by phone and the correct the system etc because right now it currently doesn't work.
 
I wonder if BT, Sky, Talktalk customers are having the same problem. If they don't it has to be PlusNet.
 
Regards
Chusan
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,277
Thanks: 1,707
Fixes: 11
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BT Wholesale broadband speed test not working

Just to link two threads on the same topic, it may help read this topic with a similar title.  Any new helpful input to assist @Gandalf would be good to try and get this problem resolved.

JayG
Pro
Posts: 972
Thanks: 85
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

After a long wait, on Win7, Chrome browser:

DL speed 9.81 Mbps (about right)

UL speed 0.11 Mbps (about 10 X lower than actual)

Ping 1240ms (god only knows!)

 

Lucy
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

The latency becomes quite dramatic in ADSL, I get >1000 values, sometimes nearing 2000 ! But the figures don't reflect the actual connection properties, all my pages (except the Openreach test page) are loading normally and download / upload speeds are as usual for my (pathetic) line.

 

It may be better if  CS agents advise customers to use an alternative speed tester until BT Wholesale sorts out their mess. The ThinkBroadband tester is giving the expected figures.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,428
Thanks: 2,818
Fixes: 225
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT Wholesale broadband speed test not working


@MauriceC wrote:

Just to link two threads on the same topic, it may help read this topic with a similar title.  Any new helpful input to assist @Gandalf would be good to try and get this problem resolved.


Moderator's note:

Both threads have been merged

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,900
Thanks: 2,798
Fixes: 441
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

 

The original opening page where you put your phone number is missing. The front page now just ask you to click in the "yes" box and then start the test. 

As far as I'm aware the front page has never asked you to input your telephone number, at least not in the past 3 to 4 years. You'd input your landline number after running the initial test and clicking on the Further Diagnostics button.

 

BT must have changed something recently

What's changed recently is that the speedtester is now using HTML5 instead of Flash.

This seems to have resolved the issues we were seeing with the Further Diagnostics failing to run, but it may be too soon to tell as if my sources are correct it was only updated 3 days ago.

 

so perhaps as PlusNet is owned by BT someone from PlusNet could discuss it with BT by phone and the correct the system etc because right now it currently doesn't work.

Being owned by BT shouldn't make a difference as our suppliers BTwholesale would need to provide an equal service to all ISPs who choose to use their services. I am in contact with the relevant people within our suppliers and I emailed them yesterday evening regarding this and I'm waiting to hear back. Will update when I know more.

 

I wonder if BT, Sky, Talktalk customers are having the same problem. If they don't it has to be PlusNet.
As far as I'm aware, Sky and TalkTalk don't use the BTwholesale infrastructure(At least in a lot of exchanges). In addition, as the problem relates to the Wholesale provider, I'd expect BT customers to experience issues with it too.
A quick Google search shows people talking about similar issues on the BT Community Forums as well.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,900
Thanks: 2,798
Fixes: 441
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

News just in.
Our suppliers believe this to be fixed.
If anyone is still noticing the BT speedtester showing an odd result having cross referenced this with other third party speedtesters, or if you see the further diagnostics fail to run please let me know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
JayG
Pro
Posts: 972
Thanks: 85
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: BT Wholesale Broadband Performance Test has changed

Just tried it:

DL 9.81Mbps

UL 1.81Mbps

Latency 42ms

Pretty remarkable upload speed for an ADSL2+ connection! Cheesy

Repeated test: upload 1.78Mbps.

Tap1 test ran OK, results as expected (i.e. no upload porkies!)