cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Speedtester won't work!

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: 13-06-2007

BT Speedtester won't work!

Hey does anyone know if its possible to get round the adsl login step for the BT speedtester or can someone at PN take a look and see if there's wrong details somewhere?
I've had my BT line and PN account since the start of feb and everytime I go to the BT speedtester (speedtester.bt.com) I put in my lines phone number and then my adsl login (glasgowmcm@plusdsl.net)  but I keep getting this message:
"The login name entered on this tool doesnt match that discovered by querying the network for your domain name. Please check your telephone number (or user name) and try again. If problem persists please contact your CP."
Anyone have any ideas?
14 REPLIES
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

Don't put in that login address. Are you sure it doesn't just need your phone number?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,535
Thanks: 1,536
Fixes: 100
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

It checks your ADSL login details and won't let you use it otherwise.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

oh right. Sorry. I don't remember ever using an address that looked like that one.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,816
Thanks: 530
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

I don't think you did in the original one.  Can't remember when it changed though.  It's been a while, and I don't use it often!
Phil
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,535
Thanks: 1,536
Fixes: 100
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

@geewizz
It depends which vISP you are on.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

There have been lots of threads discussing issues with the BT tester. It has never worked for me. Errors like this are fairly typical -  it is a flaw with the tool, not anything you are doing.
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,559
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

I have just used the Bt speed tester. and got the same login message, however, after trying various combinations, the one that worked was the username on my email address@plusdsl.net
not  the whole email address...
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

Err, that's what you're supposed to use isn't it, i.e. your router logon (RTFM?).
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,559
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

As it worked for me, I assume so ! !.... was trying to point the OP in the right direction, in case he had been using the email address..... Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

It looked like he used (correctly) his router login.  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,559
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 18
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

Then what more can I say ?      ?  ?  Roll eyes Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

You'll think of something  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

I think it must be some sort of error on eco or something?  Only thing I can think of anyway! Anyone at PN got any ideas?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,850
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: BT Speedtester won't work!

i couldn't get that thing to work for me either.  it was point and click when i first used it.  can't think why they changed that format.
i use thinkbroadband.com instead.  the hell with all that faffing about.