cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Speedtester problems

davidhil
Dabbler
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

BT Speedtester problems

Hi all,
On trying to use the BT Speedtester over the course of the last few days I have found that when the actual test commences it comes up with a notice "Exception - permission denied".  The progress bar then runs to 96% after which it stalls and the test results do not appear. Has anyone else encountered this problem, and if so is there a means of overcoming it?
Many thanks for any help you can provide.
Regards,
Davidhil.
7 REPLIES
jkevin
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

You're not the only one. I've been trying to run the BT speedtest since Friday night and get exactly the same problem!
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 11,082
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

Do you mean like this?
Note the Java exception message.
This is a long-standing error.
The only way to overcome this error is not to use this website.
Despite what BT say, it is broken.

Fifer
Grafter
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: BT Speedtester problems

Been getting the exact same error message with Firefox---- never works.
Strange thing is if  i try the BT speedtest with Opera it completes almost every time, no java error 
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

Highlighted
davidhil
Dabbler
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

Hi all,
Just thought I should add a further post. I have found that if I switch off my Firewall, ( Norton Internet Security for Macintosh), whilst running the last part of the test then it will complete and provide it's normal readings. I have run the test on Opera but find it does not work but it's OK on Safari and Firefox.
Regards,
Davidhil
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

It never works for me in Firefox but very nearly always works for me in IE.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,987
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: BT Speedtester problems

I really think its about time BT pulled their finger out, and sorted this tester. If they want us to run tests using this pathetic excuse of an application, before they accept there is a fault, then they should make sure it actually works. I am sure PlusNet and other ISPs are pushing as they are probably sick of this as well. Do plus have any comment on what Bt are doing if anything about this Speedtester.