Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Master Socket

LittleReggie
Grafter

BT Master Socket

hi.
i have just realised something that is slightly worrying - i dont think i have a proper BT master socket at my property. the black BT cable from outside enters the property through the roof (it's a bungalow btw), and terminates in the loft at one of those old-fashioned connection blocks (see pic below). from here there is a thinner white cable that runs through the loft and down into the living room to what i think is a traditional phone socket. it doesnt have a removable face-plate. i dont have any other telephony equipment though, just the one router and telephone at this socket, which is clear as a bell.
when trouble-shooting adsl connection problems, the first thing anyone says on here is to plug directly into the master socket. well i wouldnt be able to do this.
what i would like to know is:
1) is this something i need to rectify as a matter of urgency, or can i carry on with this set-up (which has been present since i moved to the property about 5 years ago)?
2) how much would  BT charge to install a new master socket? if they agree to put it where the current socket is (in the living room), will they need to run a new cable from the pole straight to the new socket?
3) could i have the master socket installed in the loft, where the existing cable terminates? i could put my router up there then, and keep the cable that runs down to the existing phone socket in the living room.
thanks,
reg.
19 REPLIES 19
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: BT Master Socket

That's all fine as it is.
Just check that only 2 wires are used in the white cable and that the others are disconnected at both ends.
The white cable should be "proper" (CW1308) phone wire which is twisted gently in pairs inside the outer sheath, typically 2 pairs sometimes 3.
The 2 wires used should "match", e.g. if modern be blue/white and white/blue (or both orange etc.).