cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 57
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

I hate to see my 582n router gathering dust and feel like it is good.
Can I ask some fellow guys to reply if they think that the 582n is better than BT hub 3 type B?
Had BT hub since september (bought it off eBay.)
I have had 582n since upgrade to Fibre calls unlimited and was offered a free router. I got this in August.\
Thanks
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

100% for the HH3
I had 2 of the 582's (still got one sitting here gathering dust) and the wifi on them was atrocious. (now use a N300 and get a signal all through the house fine)
PowerLee
Rising Star
Posts: 570
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎12-03-2013

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

The wireless performance of the 582n can be tweaked via Telnet commands.
I've tweaked mine earlier today & will report back after a few days.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

No you can open it to 40Mhz channels but the performance is still <insert expletive>. In my '50's end terrace it struggled to provide a reasonable signal in the NEXT ROOM ~12 feet away.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 57
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

Sticking to the HH3!!
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

HH3a works brilliantly here
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 57
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

Are you on ADSL? - apjashley1
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: BT Hub 3 or PN 582n?

Yes, ADSL2+