cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

mexicano
Grafter
Posts: 131
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2010

BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

I've just done a speed test using speedtest.net and it is showing BT as my provider. I know that Plusnet is part of BT but I have never seen BT hostname. I've seen Infonet Services but not BT. Is this correct? Don't tell me Plusnet have so many customers now that they have run out of addresses? Crazy
And I know my download speed is ONLY 6 Mbps!! What can I do? I don't want to pay extra for the fibre cable  Cheesy
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

Plusnet recently started using some additional ranges of IP addresses, almost all details about your 217.39.X.X IP address (from a whois lookup) show Plusnet. Perhaps the speedtest.net website needs to update their database or whatever they use to determine ISPs.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

Depending on how far you are from the exchange 6Mbps may be all you can get.
What does http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome say?
Could you post the information asked for here: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,143835.0.html
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

Hi - You went through all this back in August when best speed was a fraction over 7Mbps?
Can you recall if you have had to reboot the router as if you did that before 9am or after 4pm you may have synced at a lower speed.
May be worth  a graceful shutdown and restart between 12 and 1 or at the weekend  10 til 3.
mexicano
Grafter
Posts: 131
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2010

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

Thanks spoon and cedlor, but I wasn't querying the speed. I just made that remark off the cuff, just in case someone picked that up from the attachment.  Wink
I just wanted to make sure that the hostname and ip address was legit which has been answered.
Thanks again.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,430
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 92
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

Don't think it's a new range. If someone nudges me tomorrow I'll prod speedtest.net and get it sorted.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,773
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

It's part of a number of ranges that were transferred to the Plusnet stable a few months ago.
David
David
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,430
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 92
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: BT Hostname 217.39.24.12 showing on Speedtest.net

After digging through my emails, it turns out I contacted Maxmind last month to ask them to update their ISP detection for the following IP ranges:
217.32.32.0/20
217.32.112.0/22
217.32.148.0/22
217.32.152.0/21
217.32.160.0/22
217.32.176.0/22
217.39.16.0/20
217.39.112.0/20
217.45.24.0/21
217.45.96.0/20
217.46.24.0/22
217.46.128.0/20

Doesn't look like there's been any change though, so I've just raised a ticket with speedtest.net directly.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵