Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

BT Home Hub 5

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

BT Home Hub 5

Mods feel free to move this if in wrong place .......
Has anyone managed to try out the bt home hub 5 on plusnets fttc service and how did the combined unit perform as im looking at purchasing one direct from the bt store but would like to know are there any pro's and con's IE are the sync stats viewable since it's a combined unit .
101 REPLIES
Grafter
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Also how easy is to configure to work on plusnet if it's compatible ? .
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Not used the new BT hub 5, even tho i'm on BT
here is a guide on how to set up the hub, that I created on Plusnet.  It should work on hub 5 even though it is appointed to the earlier models
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,113872.0.html ; (another thread)
exact same information but from library
http://community.plus.net/library/hardware/using-a-bt-homehub-3-or-2-on-plusnet-adsl-or-fttc/
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎30-12-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Anyone using this? I just bought one off ebay would like to know how it is.
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

I'm in the process of getting the new hub 5 but near xmas time when the money starts to roll in from my bonus  Wink
So by the time I have one you would have probably set one up
I  am getting mine for £45 from BT (can't remember exact price but around that) I am an existing BT customer on infinity 2 (see my sig  Wink )
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Grafter
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Hopefully i get my bt home hub 5 tomorrow £129 from the bt store will post more detailed info and user experience on it once i have it all setup.
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Are you on plusnet?
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Grafter
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Yup im on plusnets unlimited fiber package.
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: BT Home Hub 5

I'll hopefully be ordering one on in the next week or so so I'll give you my thoughts when I receive it.
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

I'm going to do the dirty trick by ringing BT to cancel unless I get their new hub free
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 16,007
Thanks: 344
Fixes: 39
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Home Hub 5

mod:note
stripped the way off topic posts
Will Moderate For Thanks
Grafter
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Does anyone know if the home hub 5 has the broadcom chip.
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: BT Home Hub 5

It does not.
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: BT Home Hub 5

I'm guessing it would have a faster chip than the Broadcom chip.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: BT Home Hub 5

Nope, faster is the wrong word. It is pretty much the same speed as the equivalent Broadcom chip, just uses different hardware (Lantiq CPU).
dick:quote