cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT/FONERA?

Alxns
Grafter
Posts: 172
Registered: 18-05-2010

BT/FONERA?

I was looking at this http://www.fon.com/en/promos/betterThan3gMoreInfo?voucher=200912_UK_2495&partner=bigBannerStartSurfi...
Now it works like
I plug into my ISP making it a wifi hotspot and in return i get access to other FON hotspots for free?
has anyone tried this ? i'm considering doing so as im away at the moment and would like some free wifi Smiley
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,364
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

and what happens when someone uses your FON hotspot to download copyrighted material ?
Since you're sharing your BB connection will it be logged against YOUR IP address ?
If so you could well get a threatening letter from these people http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,85908.0/topicseen.html
Alxns
Grafter
Posts: 172
Registered: 18-05-2010

Re: BT/FONERA?

Lol yeh i guess your right but i'd still like to try it out.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,364
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

Yes, in principal it sounds like a good idea , I'd just be a bit careful in today's climate.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,434
Thanks: 1,012
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

I hope that you are on the unlimited package  Lips are sealed
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

I have been using FON for years and I have my connection as a hotspot as I want to be able to use other FON hotspots when I travel, especially abroad. I joined FON before BT got involved so my hotspot is chargeable to non FON community members. I believe that BT stopped chargeable hotspots when they became involved and instead give free WiFi minutes with the router to connect to primary BTOpenzone. These free minutes are a one off and not a monthly allocation.
If you join FON you will be able to log on to any SSID that you see with FON at the beginning or BTFON and some BTOpenezone.

itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

Quote from: Oldjim
I hope that you are on the unlimited package  Lips are sealed

With FON you can allocate bandwidth so you can set it low so it's nearly unusable for streaming and downloading.  Normally this is done on the FON portal but as I've hacked the firmware in my FON router I can do it locally. I believe with BTFON (which is automatically loaded in a BT Homehub) the bandwidth is fixed at 512kbps.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: BT/FONERA?

For coverage information http://maps.fon.com/ and http://www.bt.com/static/wa/wifi/pages/findhotspots.html?s_cid=con_FURL_btfon/hotspots. With BT users I believe that most were are not aware when they agreed to BTFON they were opening up their BB connection to other users.