cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BB speed

WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

BB speed

  My BB speed has plummeted from 1.4 Mb, give or take , to 115Kb/s.
Test results show IP for line is 135Kb/s and range to be 50 to 250
Does this indicate a  BT line fault ? I can't even use Iplayer , its so slow !  The U/L speed is higher than the D/L speed that's not normal surely?
Cry
26 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BB speed

Please advise the stats from the router as requested here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html and what happens to them if you try the test socket
Stewthecue
Grafter
Posts: 95
Registered: 26-06-2009

Re: BB speed

Not nescessarily. This has happened to me, and 4 engineers visits have indicated that my physical line is fine and fault free.
That's not to say that you don't have a fault. It's worth goign through plusnets fault checker anyway and getting a ticket raised for someone to look into it.
WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

Re: BB speed


DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 9:12:01
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 480
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 6,69 / 35,59
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 15,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,5 / 57,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,0 / 8,0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5.852
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

Pick a task...
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BB speed

Sheesh  Sad
Can you try the test socket
WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

Re: BB speed

  With the router plugged into the primary BT outlet

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:08
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 256
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 36,00 / 132,00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 13,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,5 / 57,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,0 / 9,0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BB speed

... and in the test socket inside the master socket?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

Re: BB speed

I have just removed the facia of the socket and find that the incoming wires all attach to the part that plugs into the socket shown in your picture .In other words its reversed .I  Hasten to add I have never touched these since they were installed by BT  .The plain White and the Blu/White are pushed into one slot and the Orange and Blue into another . Although this seems to be wrong the system has worked reasonably well for 10 yrs.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BB speed

That is correct - those are the wires that go to the extensions - you should find that all the other sockets are now dead with no dial tone.
By using the test socket (you can directly plug the filter in to the test socket and connect the router and if you need it a phone) it eliminates all the internal wiring - this is the point of the test socket. You need to look immediately at the router stats to see if they are improved, and then see if things are more stable when using the test socket. Note that you won't see actual improved speeds until BT raise the IP Profile which can take 3 days or more.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

Re: BB speed

  I am afraid I have to disagree with you Jelv.  Since no cables are in contact with the test socket at all ,confirmed by a complete lack of dial tone with an ordinary phone.  The figures I produced above were those obtained by plugging the router into the face plate with all other (plug in) extensions removed. Of course this means that the wire that takes the feed to the computer station was still attached because the socket seems to be wired incorrectly. I have taken a picture of the  system with the face plate off if needed.
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: BB speed

Theres a plug on the facia you removed, which sits in the "test" socket.
The "wires" come off the back of that plug, which gives you your extension cabling the dial tone.
If theres *anything* even *wires* connected, you need to remove them from the circuitry to isolate the BT side cabling, that way if theres a fault, you dont get slapped with over £100 call out fee for an engineer.
Unless im misunderstanding what you have written.
It looks to be a phoneline fault - however without isolating your internal wiring (it can degrade over time, hoovering over cables can damage them etc....... the list is endless  Huh)
You need to be looking at these lines:
Quote
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:  448 / 256
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:  31,5 / 57,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:  13,0 / 9,0

to see if those figures change, from within the test socket.
Regards
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,821
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 23
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: BB speed

Quote from: WILT
I have taken a picture of the  system with the face plate off if needed.

Why not post this so everyone can be sure?
WILT
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 04-03-2008

Re: BB speed

I completely agree with  your analysis ,however because the external line has been hardwired to the extension via the front plate, I would need to remove the actual wires from the push in connectors and wire the input to the proper connector which is presumably behind the fixed part of the socket still attached to the wall .  As I understand it this could get me into serious trouble as I'd be in " Outreach"  territory.


I reiterate, this is how the socket has always been wired by the original BT engineer !
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BB speed

If you plug a phone in to the test socket inside the master do you have a dial tone?
Looking at the photo I'd guess you have at least two extensions - is that correct?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BB speed

for clarity
I have circled the test socket in red
Also don't use this connector (circled in blue) just fit the filter into the test socket with the router attached to it