cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

krepublik
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 13-09-2010

BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

t reac
Hi, been with plusnet almost a year now and been very happy until now but my BB  started  disconnecting randomly about 2 weeks ago, I have the common thomson TG585 router and i have realized in the log  this error  "Disconnected because idle timeout", anyone had this problem before?
Plusnet ran tests on the line a few days ago and said there might be a problem with the line and to call BT, which is funny as plusnet is owned by BT. Anyway, BT say everything is fine, i have changed micro-filters just in case but the problem persists. im beginning to wonder if its the router?
Any help welcome  Wink.
Cheers,
Chris.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 65
Fixes: 2
Registered: 17-06-2007

Re: BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

Yes I've had it and never had a real response as to what it means.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

"Idle Time-out" is usually a router setting - if set to any value other than zero, the router will disconnect after a period of inactivity on the connection. I can't remember where (or even if) the Thomson router has this setting, but if you can find it, set it to zero.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

HI krepublik,
Don't suppose you can post those log errors? How many times has that happened?
Jojo Smiley
krepublik
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 13-09-2010

Re: BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

@Jaggies thanks for the advise, good to know,  but as plusnet have their own software for the router you cant really change anything. I know that with other routers there is a diferent gateway to access to generic software page but don't think that's posible with this router.
HI Jojo,
thanks for the reply, it's been ok for the last few days but if it happens again I will post the log with the error.
Thanks.
Chris.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: BB disconection problems, error on router Disconnected because idle timeout

HI Chris,
No worries, hopefully it was just a blip.
Jojo Smiley