cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

B T line parameter software.

oldgeezer
Grafter
Posts: 212
Thanks: 1
Registered: 02-02-2010

B T line parameter software.

I'm relatively new to wireless broadband and have just replaced my Philips abg mode wireless modem-router with a Cisco Linksys WAG120N model. It was very easy to set up and up to now giving good results with a marked increase in download speed and range.
When I access the router browser however I cannot find any indication of phone line characteristics other than up & down sync speeds. There is no indication of things like line attenuation or s/n ratios.
Can anyone recommend  a simple (free) application that I can run to keep an eye on these figures ?
oldgeezer
6 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,778
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 55
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: B T line parameter software.

I believe you can get the line statistics via the router browser using a hidden page.
Assuming your router using using the default ip it should be http://192.168.1.1/setup.cgi?next_file=adsl_driver.htm
oldgeezer
Grafter
Posts: 212
Thanks: 1
Registered: 02-02-2010

Re: B T line parameter software.

Thank-you for that, unfortunately it shows every parameter except the 3 that I want which are missing.
______      dsl Noise Margin
______      dsl Attenuation
______      dsl Transmit Power
oooooer that's funny !
oldgeezer
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: B T line parameter software.

This looks like a fundamental problem with the firmware !  http://208.74.204.125/t5/Cable-and-DSL/WAG120N-Problem-in-line-measurement/m-p/298728
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,778
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 55
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: B T line parameter software.

Yep, looks like Cisco/Linksys have decided, in their wisdom, that there is no need for your to see those figures Roll eyes
oldgeezer
Grafter
Posts: 212
Thanks: 1
Registered: 02-02-2010

Re: B T line parameter software.

It would seem so, I've just contacted Cisco and the reply is that the information that I require can only be obtained from my ISP provider !
I thought it was the case that the ISP provider asked the customer to provide this information.
Is there not some third party software that could extract this information ?
I went for Cisco because the IT outfit at my old firm used to swear by (not at) them.
It seems that the information has been removed from other Cisco modem/routers, it all seems a bit sinister.
oldgeezer.
glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: B T line parameter software.

Is there a way to telnet to the router? You may find the info via that route.