cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

B T line parameter software.

oldgeezer
Grafter

B T line parameter software.

I'm relatively new to wireless broadband and have just replaced my Philips abg mode wireless modem-router with a Cisco Linksys WAG120N model. It was very easy to set up and up to now giving good results with a marked increase in download speed and range.
When I access the router browser however I cannot find any indication of phone line characteristics other than up & down sync speeds. There is no indication of things like line attenuation or s/n ratios.
Can anyone recommend  a simple (free) application that I can run to keep an eye on these figures ?
oldgeezer
6 REPLIES 6
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Re: B T line parameter software.

I believe you can get the line statistics via the router browser using a hidden page.
Assuming your router using using the default ip it should be http://192.168.1.1/setup.cgi?next_file=adsl_driver.htm

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

oldgeezer
Grafter

Thank-you for that, unfortunately it shows every parameter except the 3 that I want which are missing.
______      dsl Noise Margin
______      dsl Attenuation
______      dsl Transmit Power
oooooer that's funny !
oldgeezer
Anonymous
Not applicable

This looks like a fundamental problem with the firmware !  http://208.74.204.125/t5/Cable-and-DSL/WAG120N-Problem-in-line-measurement/m-p/298728
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Yep, looks like Cisco/Linksys have decided, in their wisdom, that there is no need for your to see those figures Roll_eyes

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

oldgeezer
Grafter