cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Awful speeds wow!!

ashrafmiah93
Grafter
Posts: 147
Registered: 08-06-2011

Awful speeds wow!!

Ive been getting ridiculously poor speeds for 1 week now. Speeds do not for the majority of the time go above 2mb. Even though stats below shows sync speed is 10mb which means i should be getting something close to 8-9mb at the least.
Uptime: 4 days, 20:50:49
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,176 / 10,467
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1.97 / 46.37
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.3 / 39.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.1 / 4.7
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 5,652 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 36,627,663
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1,149 / 12,226
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,151 / 109,433
4 REPLIES
nightstalk3r
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Awful speeds wow!!

This is a bit concerning
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):  5,652 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):  0 / 36,627,663
CRC Errors (Up/Down):  1,149 / 12,226
HEC Errors (Up/Down):  1,151 / 109,433
Thats a hell of a lot of errors.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,551
Thanks: 797
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Awful speeds wow!!

Is the phone OK with no background noise?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ashrafmiah93
Grafter
Posts: 147
Registered: 08-06-2011

Re: Awful speeds wow!!

telephone has line has always been fine. dial tone has always been there without any crackling.
Just some background info, 2 months ago a BT engineer arrived and he replaced the master socket face plate into a split by openreach one, he also disconnected the adsl connections for the 2 other sockets in the house which as a result boosted sync speeds up and for the first time ever speeds were hitting 8-9mbs as they should've done all the time since I joined plusnet 4 years which however that wasn't the case since I I experienced poor speeds through out my time with plusnet being lucky to hit 4mbs at times.
I am happy with the fact I now know for sure my line is able to hit its sync speeds as it has done for the last 2 months but feel the job is only half done and that the remaining half to be solved now is what causes somany connection drops and errors on my line once that problem is solved I feel my line will never drop speed and I'll always have constant 8-9mb speeds. These constant connection losses and errors are hurting my speeds badly and it really is frustrating. I've tried getting plusnet to reply but they seem to ignore me every time.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,477
Thanks: 1,931
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Awful speeds wow!!

You've had numerous threads on speed issues this year...
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,139897.msg1234160.html#msg1234160
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,140276.msg1240304.html#msg1240304
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,141262.msg1246142.html#msg1246142
Since your (defective?) internal wiring was disconnected the stats you have posted have shown a consistent 10ish Mbps synch rate.  In one of your threads you reported that a BTOR engineer suggested that the internal wiring installed in your flat complex might not be up to standards - that is an issue which you might need to take up with the landlord.
Sight of all of the information requested in the speed issues thread (see below) would be very useful please.  Are the speed tests being done over a wired connection or WiFi?  Which router are you using?  Have you tried a different router?  Do you get the same result if you plug the router into the test socket?  (You will need a standard filter to do that.)