Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus N66U Users Thread

tijara33
Pro
Fixes: 6

Re: Asus N66U Users Thread

I also use the Asus firmware on my 56 & it works fine for me. I'm no computer expert & I love the way that the firmware updates & installs  itself without my having to go hunting for a misplaced download!!  Embarrassed
dfunked
Grafter

I guess I'll give the Asus a firmware a shot and look into Merlin if there's anything in particular that I feel I'm missing (doubtful!)
Is it safe enough to just let it auto update the firmware, then? (bear in mind that I'm coming from a 7800N, which is advisable to factory reset after every flipping firmware upgrade!)
tijara33
Pro
Fixes: 6

I just click on the firmware version & then "check for updates" & it then checks & if one is available it downloads, self installs, requests a reboot & off it goes. It takes about 5 minutes total.
dfunked
Grafter

I'm quite pleased with it so far - admittedly after only a couple of hours of playing about... I'd read a few reviews which stated it wasn't really an improvement over the 7800N in terms of WiFi penetration which almost put me off buying, but they were clearly talking absolute [Censored]! I got very sketchy 0 to 1 bar coverage in the far bedroom in my flat beforehand, but get 2-3 now (exact same 2.4GHz settings/channels as before)
My Raspberry Pi (via a cheap WiFi dongle which is the major bottleneck) was getting ~400KBps throughput on the local network before, which was just about good enough for streaming SD content, but now gets ~1.3MBps which should be good enough for typical HD content. On the default cache settings it's gone from 30+ seconds to starting to play a file to less than 10 seconds, so double winner!
Setup was a doddle and it was up and running in a matter of minutes - the only slight delay was updating the firmware at the start!
fiscelan
Grafter

Just installed on Friday the N66U to replace the poor PN TG582n. What a difference it makes!