cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Hi
Want to replace my BT homehub 5 with a better modem / router , was looking at a Fritz box 3390 but also found the a
Asus DSL-N66U  .....anyone have a review on this ?
Fritz box is only vdsl ...not vdsl2 like Asus .
Reviews on the net look good , after updating firmware .
Any input most appreciated
Karl
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

I have an Asus RT-N66U which I'm very pleased with. From what I've seen, Asus routers are in general pretty highly regarded.
Bob
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Many thanks for that Bob ....sounding good to me ...how you find wifi on it as that is supposed to better than most ?
cheers
karl
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

It's difficult to say but we have a fairly large house and both the 2.4g and 5g networks work in every room. I can say that the 2.4g signal is stronger than the Netgear DG834g router I used before.
The DG834g router was as solid as a rock and I tried several dual band routers as replacements but they all fell short with the exception of the Asus.
Bob.
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

thanks for the info ...5ghz band is always weaker than 2.4ghz so thats fine with me ....but sounds good to me ...may just get one Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-07-2007

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

There are quite a few PlusNet users. If you search this board you'll find quite a long thread on the RT-N66U.
Bob.
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Anyone else have any input on this ?
leader
Grafter
Posts: 261
Registered: 02-02-2013

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Plusnet are/were(?) trailing the Thomson TG589
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,117383.msg1015595.html#msg1015595
Might be worth asking one of the Digicare team (or ^Graham21 ^i]r ) if they still can be had..... Wink
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

I would note that the RT-N66U and the DSL-N66U may have different wifi performance to each other.  The RT unit has external antennas but the DSL version doesn't.
There's a thread here about getting the DSL-N66U working on VDSL.  I don't think it was resolved...
More posts here - Looks like a couple of users got it working but the throughput wasn't very good.
Draftrabbit
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-03-2012

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Both routers are lovely, My only issue is that they are somewhat difficult to set up if they don't pick-up the Internet type right away.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Quote from: karlos103

Fritz box is only vdsl ...not vdsl2 like Asus .

Just for the sake of correctness, AVM say 'VDSL' in their spec. but I can assure you all this is VDSL2.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

looks like bit more digging required lol
cheers all
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: 26-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-N66U any good ?

Just got me an Asus DSL-N66U modem/router from PC World to replace my homehub 5 which keeps disconnecting due to a firmware issue. (got it Monday )
Well got it onto net with in few minutes no problem .
Issue is - when on 5ghz wifi im getting around 10mb lower speeds compared to lan connection ....tried every setting you can think of but still same , moved router to another position and tried different firmware ...stil no different .
Says connect at 300mps and testing next to router .
On 2.4ghz on same pc or even a different pc im getting 20mb...tried all settings again still no different and connected at 300mbps .
Hardwired into lan im get a constant 52mb download ...2.4ghz im getting around 32mb download , 5ghz around 42mb ....upload speed on both is same as lan connection .
Soon as go back to my BT Homehub 5 ...wifi speeds are fine , no different to lan connecting when next to router !!
Been back to PC world and got full refund !!!
Karl