cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are 2 routers possible

diabeg
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Are 2 routers possible

Hello
My router is positioned in my study(which is an upstairs bedroom ) next to my desk top
I use a lap top in the downstairs rooms and in the conservatory.
The signal is poor.
Downstairs I have telephone sockets.
Is it possible to have an extra router plugged into a down stairs phone socket?
Thank you
diabeg
6 REPLIES
anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2011

Re: Are 2 routers possible

No unless the telephone line is separate one.
Why not consider homeplugs lots of choice I use these.
http://preview.tinyurl.com/7qraemn
the_groundsman
Grafter
Posts: 381
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Are 2 routers possible

I havent used these but I thought they had to be on the same circuit. I have separate fuses for uppstairs and downstairs so assumed that if my router was upstairs and my client was downstairstheis would not work.
On the otherhand I wouldn't be surprised if i got that totally wrong.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Are 2 routers possible

I use http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-PA211KIT-200Mbps-Powerline-Ethernet/dp/B004INVKP4
Before I moved house I had them on separate ring mains (main house and extension from the same meter but on different fuse boxes) and they were fine.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
FoolishlyWise
Grafter
Posts: 256
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎16-02-2010

Re: Are 2 routers possible

These seem awesome:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/TL-WPA281KIT-Powerline-Extender-Wireless-Starter/dp/B0067GS29W/ref=sr_1_2?ie...
Plug in the non-wifi one upstairs, and then the wifi one downstairs. As far as I know, set it up right as an access point and it extends the range AND gives you a ethernet out incase its needed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Are 2 routers possible

diabeg
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Are 2 routers possible

Thank you all for your replies I will consider all the products that you have suggested and I am certain the matter will be resolved
Thank you very much
diabeg Wink