cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Jeade
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-03-2018

Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

 Hi

Both my Godaddy hosted wordpress sites have been down for around a week. Today one of them briefly came back on and I could log in to my dashboard, but went down again after a couple of hours.

 

I see there are others reporting issues with BT/plusnet too. Is there any advice on how to get this sorted? GD say that it is not their error. Spoke to someone at Plusnet that said it's not theirs either. 

The message I get on both my websites babychoices.co.uk and yourbirth.co.uk is below. 

 

 

This site can’t be reached

yourbirth.co.uk took too long to respond.

 

ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT
12 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,815
Thanks: 1,995
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

It does seem to seem to be a PN issue, I can get to both when I'm on my VPN but neither on the PN direct connection.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,779
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Odd.  I can access both sites via my ADSL2 connection.

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,815
Thanks: 1,995
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

both have just loaded for me on the PN connection now.. very odd.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,176
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

All the affected sites are still not working for me.

As I said earlier, when I attempt to access any of these sites, replies from the sites appear to reach my router but go no further and do not reach my computer. Since it doesn't appear to be a problem with the end user's router, then I suppose the packets must be being mangled somewhere that results in my router being unable to keep track of them so that it does not associate the received packets with the outgoing connection.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,779
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Beginning to look like a Gateway / PN routing problem?  A Traceroute from @Jeade and @ejs might spot a common link involved?  May need @bobpullen to take a look if he's available.

 

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,291
Thanks: 787
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Both sites load for me but I have a static IP address and use a 3rd party router with Google's DNS.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Jeade
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-03-2018

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 20.03.56.png

 

This is my traceroute, it won't complete. It's been running since 8pm last night when GoDaddy asked me to do it.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,291
Thanks: 787
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Interesting, my trace is complete at that point.

Windows PowerShell
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> tracert yourbirth.co.uk

Tracing route to yourbirth.co.uk [160.153.137.16]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  DSL-AC88U-4DB0 [192.168.1.254]
  2     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  410.xe-2-2-0.central10.pcn-bng02.plus.net [84.93.253.72]
  3    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  411.be6.pcn-ir02.plus.net [84.93.253.79]
  4     9 ms    10 ms     9 ms  195.99.125.140
  5    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  core3-hu0-8-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.127.36]
  6    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  213.137.183.32
  7    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  ldn-b3-link.telia.net [213.248.67.97]
  8    10 ms    10 ms    11 ms  ldn-bb4-link.telia.net [62.115.116.240]
  9    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  adm-bb4-link.telia.net [62.115.134.26]
 10    17 ms    17 ms    16 ms  adm-b2-link.telia.net [62.115.141.35]
 11    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  godaddy-ic-305669-adm-b2.c.telia.net [195.12.254.214]
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13    17 ms    18 ms    17 ms  ip-208-109-115-161.ip.secureserver.net [208.109.115.161]
 14    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ip-208-109-115-160.ip.secureserver.net [208.109.115.160]
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20    17 ms    18 ms    16 ms  ip-160-153-137-16.ip.secureserver.net [160.153.137.16]

Trace complete.
PS C:\WINDOWS\system32>
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,176
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Windows tracert uses ICMP. I had noticed that you can ping the site, but TCP connections aren't working for some unknown reason (as I said earlier, TCP packets appear to reach my router but not my computer).

Traceroute using ICMP:

 

traceroute -q 1 -N 1 -I yourbirth.co.uk
traceroute to yourbirth.co.uk (160.153.137.16), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  gateway (192.168.0.1)  4.175 ms
 2  *
 3  *
 4  be3-3102.pcn-ir02.plus.net (195.166.143.132)  25.596 ms
 5  195.99.125.140 (195.99.125.140)  25.556 ms
 6  peer6-hu0-6-0-2.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.13)  26.654 ms
 7  t2c3-et-7-1-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.211.228)  25.739 ms
 8  213.248.82.249 (213.248.82.249)  24.751 ms
 9  ldn-bb3-link.telia.net (62.115.138.150)  25.767 ms
10  adm-bb3-link.telia.net (213.155.136.99)  33.239 ms
11  adm-b2-link.telia.net (62.115.141.63)  314.557 ms
12  godaddy-ic-305669-adm-b2.c.telia.net (195.12.254.214)  34.943 ms
13  *
14  ip-208-109-115-161.ip.secureserver.net (208.109.115.161)  34.394 ms
15  ip-208-109-115-160.ip.secureserver.net (208.109.115.160)  34.472 ms
16  *
17  *
18  *
19  *
20  *
21  ip-160-153-137-16.ip.secureserver.net (160.153.137.16)  32.057 ms

Traceroute using TCP:

 

traceroute -q 1 -N 1 -T -p 80 yourbirth.co.uk
traceroute to yourbirth.co.uk (160.153.137.16), 30 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  gateway (192.168.0.1)  3.971 ms
 2  *
 3  *
 4  be3-3102.pcn-ir02.plus.net (195.166.143.132)  259.167 ms
 5  195.99.125.140 (195.99.125.140)  26.741 ms
 6  peer6-hu0-6-0-2.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.13)  26.227 ms
 7  t2c3-et-8-1-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.211.240)  26.647 ms
 8  213.248.82.249 (213.248.82.249)  24.293 ms
 9  ldn-bb4-link.telia.net (62.115.138.154)  25.909 ms
10  adm-bb3-link.telia.net (213.155.136.99)  33.620 ms
11  adm-b2-link.telia.net (62.115.118.145)  32.025 ms
12  godaddy-ic-305669-adm-b2.c.telia.net (195.12.254.214)  32.845 ms
13  *
14  *
15  *
16  *
17  *
18  *
19  *
20  *
21  *
22  *
23  *
24  *
25  *
26  *
27  *
28  *
29  *
30  *
jab1
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,010
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?

Probably no help, but I had no trouble accessing either site from Google.

John
Jeade
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-03-2018

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?


@Browni wrote:

Interesting, my trace is complete at that point.

Windows PowerShell
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> tracert yourbirth.co.uk

Tracing route to yourbirth.co.uk [160.153.137.16]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  DSL-AC88U-4DB0 [192.168.1.254]
  2     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  410.xe-2-2-0.central10.pcn-bng02.plus.net [84.93.253.72]
  3    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  411.be6.pcn-ir02.plus.net [84.93.253.79]
  4     9 ms    10 ms     9 ms  195.99.125.140
  5    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  core3-hu0-8-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.127.36]
  6    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  213.137.183.32
  7    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  ldn-b3-link.telia.net [213.248.67.97]
  8    10 ms    10 ms    11 ms  ldn-bb4-link.telia.net [62.115.116.240]
  9    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  adm-bb4-link.telia.net [62.115.134.26]
 10    17 ms    17 ms    16 ms  adm-b2-link.telia.net [62.115.141.35]
 11    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  godaddy-ic-305669-adm-b2.c.telia.net [195.12.254.214]
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13    17 ms    18 ms    17 ms  ip-208-109-115-161.ip.secureserver.net [208.109.115.161]
 14    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ip-208-109-115-160.ip.secureserver.net [208.109.115.160]
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20    17 ms    18 ms    16 ms  ip-160-153-137-16.ip.secureserver.net [160.153.137.16]

Trace complete.
PS C:\WINDOWS\system32>

Hi could you tell me, what does this mean please? I am a total novice at everything web/tech related, so only knew how to find a traceroute because GD directed me to.

Jeade
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎23-03-2018

Re: Any fix for 'This site can't be reached' GoDaddy/Wordpress error message?


@dvorak wrote:
It does seem to seem to be a PN issue, I can get to both when I'm on my VPN but neither on the PN direct connection.

Hi sorry what is the VPN?