cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I on adsl or adsl2+

FIXED
Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Hi, we have just moved home and joined the plusnet community. Unfortunately there is no fibre space in our local cabinet so are on basic broadband. I am just wondering how we can tell if we are on Adsl or adsl2+. So far our download speed is pretty bad ranging from 0.6mbs to 2.1mbs, which going by the openreach cabinet checker would infer a standard adsl connection. We have a 2704N router. TIA.
19 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 982
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 35
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Log into your router and look for Modulation. It should be either:

G992.1, which is ADSL,

G992.3, which is ADSL2 or 

G 992.5, which is ADSL2+

Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Thanks Baldrick1. I can't find this in my router settings. It does say broadband type: dsl though?
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/router-user-guides/ and select 2704n then "what does the information in Help Desk mean" then 6-20: Line stats and connection details.

Please post the full details

Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 982
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 35
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

@Brettnkatie

I have just been looking at an old Hub Zero I have and now understand that the info I asked for may not available from a Hub Zero. Maybe we can sort something out from the Helpdesk data as suggested by @Oldjim.

Returning to basics, what are the options available to you? Can you post the results you get from https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ after blanking out your phone number? The other thing to note is that if you are more than a couple of miles from your local exchange then there will probably be little difference between ADSL and ADSL2+ speed. If you are not a long way from your exchange then considering your pathetically slow speed, something else is going on.

Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Thanks Baldrick1

I have attached the results as requested.


To confirm I am approximately 2.5 miles from the exchange

Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Thanks Oldjim, I will have a look when I get home tonight.

Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 982
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 35
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

I can certainly see why there is a high demand for fibre in your area. Your results are either not very good for ADSL Max or even worse for ADSL2+. It will be interesting to see if anything useful can be extracted from your router Helpdesk but you may have to contact Plusnet and ask them which you are connected to and if necessary ask for it to be changed. However before doing this a little self help might clarify things a bit. If you ring Plusnet to report a problem they will ask you to do this anyway.

Do the basic diagnostic tests, that is:

Take the front section off your BT Master socket to expose the test socket. Using the test socket:

1 Plug a wired phone in (no filter) and do a quiet line test by ringing 17070 and selecting Option 2. There should be no buzzing, clicking etc.

2 Plug the filter and router in, switch off all devices that connect wirelessly to the router then using an Ethernet cable to a computer do the BT Wholesale speed test http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/. Once the first stage is complete move on to 'Further Diagnostics' (or whatever it is called). The results of this second test are recorded so that both BT and Plusnet can see them so it's good if you can do this test when your line is going slow.

Report the results back here.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,056
Thanks: 445
Fixes: 161
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

I've checked and you are on ADSL2+

As others have advised I'd recommend making sure your connected to the master phone socket in your property.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 982
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 35
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

OK, so we know that you are on ADSL2+, we now need to see if we can get the best out of this line. I suggest that you still post the results from the Helpdesk, the quiet line test and BT Speed test here to see if anything jumps out.

Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Hi Oldjim, as requested here is the help desk info that has come up.

Thanks

Brett

 

1 - Product name: Plusnet Router
2 - Serial number: N7172901B000045 
3 - Firmware version: 7.275.6_F2704N_Plusnet
4 - Board version: F@ST2704N
5 - Mode ADSL
6 - Uptime: 0 days 03:17:17
7 - Data rate: 800/2400
8 - Maximum data rate: 972/2372
9 - Noise margin: 10.0/5.6
10 - Line attenuation: 31.5/49.0
12 - Data sent/received: 12.1M/17.9M
Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Hi Baldrick

 Quiet test was very quiet.

results are not so good. :0(

FAQ

Results Image not loaded

 

 


1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.

  Download  Speed
  1.99 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 2 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 1.99 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.8 Mbps-2 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 2.03 Mbps

2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  0.66 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.66Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
Brettnkatie
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-02-2018

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Thanks Matthew.  Yes router is connected to master socket.

Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 982
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 35
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

Unfortunately the result is within the BT acceptable range so it looks like there’s nothing that can be done except hope that you can get fibre soon. Is there any sort of high speed internet initiative being run by your local or county council who you can lobby?

Sorry I can’t be more help.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,031
Thanks: 1,410
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Am I on adsl or adsl2+

From the speed test, it looks suspiciously like the line is on ADSL Max not ADSL2+? 

The ADSL2+ range is 5.5 to 7.5 so something is odd.