cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Wondering if anyone on the forum or at Plusnet can help?
I've used the BT Wholesale speed tester http://speedtest.btwholesale.com on quite a few occasions at different times day/night since I've been connected with Plusnet around a week ago.
One thing that has been really annoying me is that every time that I've got my speed test results and clicked through for Further Diagnostics and enter telephone number it always shows
"The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider."

So here I am raising the issue  Wink
I have tried on 4 different computers in the home all say the same on further diagnostics
Any ideas on whats causing this?




12 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

yup ,, does the same for me  Roll eyes
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

It won't be your computer! Try the standard tester as well, they both get borked from time to time . Plusnet need to moan at BTw.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Have you tried one at http://speedtester.bt.com
@rongtw
Is that also at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com
prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Quote from: chrispurvey
Have you tried one at http://speedtester.bt.com

Cant get any speed results on that at all, after entering number just goes straight to

I done a speed test after the engineer was at the cab this morning and got 76.33 down



but since then my speed tests are all hitting 41(ish) half speed ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

If it 'always' fails on the diagnostics it may be worth asking Plusnet for your service ID and try entering that instead of the phone number (different box) - just in case the database that looks up the phone number is broken.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

I'm just waiting for the engineer to close off the job today and look at the notes then I can check your line.
prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Got the stats from the BT modem about an hour ago
attainable rate up/down and sync rate look pretty good here.  Don't have any clue about errors  Crazy
But BT wholesale tester (only one that works for me) is showing 20 odd down on test.
prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Managed to get further diagnostics around 6pm engineer must have closed off the job Today
prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Strange my attainable rate has risen but sync speed has lowered ?  Attainable was 82 is now 86, sync was almost 80 and has lowered to just below 74. 

Although Bt speed test  is poor Shocked

Don't know how it works with fibre but on my O2 legacy line I get around 6-7 meg at different times of the day/night consistently on various speed tests. 
On the fibre extra speed tests different times day/night are very erratic never really seems to get two tests alike  Huh is this normal?
TBB monitor shows latancy jump around 4am Sunday.  DLM ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

I'd say that you had a loss of sync around 4am and either DLM has applied/increased Interleaving or the Gateway change has caused the increase in ping times.
The BT speedtester is know to be borked on occasions, giving silly results. Just try it again at another time. Also give the TBB speedtester a try.
prettyflyguy
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎27-09-2012

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Quote from: Anotherone
give the TBB speedtester a try.






For now, TBB tests seems to be jumping between  14 Mb - 60Mb down below 73 it should be around,  upload looks rubbish on 4MbCrazy.  All a tests  wired   
Checked the stats again on hg612 and still synced at 73 down and 20 up.



Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Always Error on further diagnostics speedtest at btwholesale

Check which Gateway you are on? I'm not sure which ones are available for fibre. Make a note of the times each of the speedtests are run and see also what the TBB Ping graphs are indicating at those times.