cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

I have been using a TG582n for my ADSL connection for nearly two years - not the best router in the world but it provided a rock solid connection. Am in the process of upgrading to FTTC so have been sent a Plusnet Hub One - connection drops constantly

(16268.380000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request] the all time record for my connection crapping out was 3 mins. Plug my old TG582n and connection stays up.

Was told by support to raise a fault ticket #125917827 as SNR was high.

(16288.840000) ETHoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 35 Down Rate=4928Kbps, Up Rate=448Kbps; SNR Margin Down=15.0dB, Up=26.0dB

Have been sent a replacement Plusnet Hub One and problem still persists. Although ticket has been updated with "I have been doing a full diagnostic test of your line today and haven't been able to find any issue that would need raising to our suppliers."

Using upstairs extension or Master Socket makes no difference to SNR.

Looks like I will on my 3rd Plusnet Hub One by the end of the day.

14 REPLIES
etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

If you are switching to fibre these drops will stop. I know it's frustrating but maybe ask for snr to be increased to make the line stable?

Unless of course you're line has developed a fault? Maybe someone from plusnet can check for you
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

The VCI should be 38 for PPPoA ADSL

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Thanks, I was sort of thinking I may be chasing a problem that might not actually exist once I have been cutover to Fibre. Not a fan of the Hub One. I was running with a TG582n flashed with Zen Firmware so that I could run it as a modem only with a Cisco ASA5505 and an Apple Time Capsule for my LAN but wanted to simplify my connection so thought I would just run it with the supplied hardware..

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

I can't understand why the Hub One device which should be ADSL compatible is configured like that. I wonder if @bobpullen could throw some light on this?

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

@Anotherone thanks for offering to get assistance from @bobpullen. It looks as if my FTTC cutover is in progress as following message in the logs on my Plusnet Hub One.

(32797.820000) WAN operating mode is VDSL

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Good stuff, but will you get the sync speeds you expected?

Bob's input is still needed though, as it seems to highlight a problem.

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Hi @Anotherone below is log for entire session from connection to termination in case it is useful to @bobpullen.

 


13:02:38, 23 May. (21912.070000) WAN operating mode is ADSL
13:02:38, 23 May. (21912.070000) Last WAN operating mode was ADSL
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.830000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration ACK
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.800000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration Request
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.800000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration NAK
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.800000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration ACK
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.800000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration Request
13:02:36, 23 May. (21910.580000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration Request
13:02:35, 23 May. (21908.990000) PPPoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 38 Down Rate=4864Kbps, Up Rate=448Kbps; SNR Margin Down=15.2dB, Up=26.0dB
13:02:35, 23 May. (21908.980000) CHAP authentication successful
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.710000) CHAP Receive Challenge
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.710000) Starting CHAP authentication with peer
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.710000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration ACK
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.680000) PPP LCP Send Configuration ACK
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.680000) PPP LCP Send Configuration Request
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.680000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration Request
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.330000) CHAP Receive Challenge
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.320000) Starting CHAP authentication with peer
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.320000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration ACK
13:02:34, 23 May. (21908.300000) PPP LCP Send Configuration Request
13:02:32, 23 May. (21906.580000) PPP LCP Send Configuration ACK
13:02:32, 23 May. (21906.580000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration Request
13:02:31, 23 May. (21905.300000) PPP LCP Send Configuration Request
13:01:58, 23 May. (21872.300000) Starting CHAP authentication with peer
13:01:58, 23 May. (21872.290000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration ACK
13:01:58, 23 May. (21872.290000) PPP LCP Send Configuration ACK
13:01:58, 23 May. (21872.290000) PPP LCP Receive Configuration Request
13:01:58, 23 May. (21872.270000) PPP LCP Send Configuration Request
13:01:52, 23 May. (21866.220000) ETHoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 35 Down Rate=4864Kbps, Up Rate=448Kbps; SNR Margin Down=15.1dB, Up=26.0dB
13:01:52, 23 May. (21866.220000) ATM over DSL is up
13:01:34, 23 May. (21848.400000) ATM over DSL is down after 16 minutes uptime
13:01:34, 23 May. (21848.400000) ETHoA is down after 16 minutes uptime
13:01:34, 23 May. (21848.390000) PPPoA is down after 15 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN ATM over DSL -​ Down)]
13:01:31, 23 May. (21845.820000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]

 

Agree if Plusnet are sending out Hub One's with the incorrect configuration then it needs to be resolved.

 

BTW I got a response to my question #125917827 and a configuration issue was found on my line which has been reset. So hopefully we get a good sync speed.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Thanks for that. At least Bob maybe able to explain what it's doing if it's not actually an issue, so then we'll know for the future. They seem to be sending out the Hub One to ADSL users as well now, at least that's an impression I'm getting.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,430
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 92
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

13:01:52, 23 May. (21866.220000) ETHoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 35 Down Rate=4864Kbps, Up Rate=448Kbps; SNR Margin Down=15.1dB, Up=26.0dB

13:02:35, 23 May. (21908.990000) PPPoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 38 Down Rate=4864Kbps, Up Rate=448Kbps; SNR Margin Down=15.2dB, Up=26.0dB

Struggling to justify this one if I'm honest. It's as if you've two network interfaces configured in parallel. How did you have the router configured? You were using the DSL and not the WAN port to connect the router to the phone socket weren't you? What else did you have plugged into the router?

I'll admit, it does look odd. We've not shipped that many Hub Ones to ADSL customers, but even so, I'd expect to have encountered this problem before now if it were a widespread issue.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Hi Bob in answer to your questions above.

1. You were using the DSL and not the WAN port to connect the router to the phone socket weren't you? Yes this is exactly how I had it configured with the RJ11 Cable Connected directly to the Phone Socket using a Micro Filter.

2. An Apple Time Capsule was connected to Ethernet Port 1 and this is used to provide Wi-Fi access with the Wi-Fi on the Plusnet Hub One turned off. The  Apple Time Capsule is configured in Bridged Mode so all Routing, DNS forwarding & DHCP services are provided by the Hub One. If you have any more questions happy to answer them for you.

Simon

Gel
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,591
Thanks: 163
Fixes: 14
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

I am on ADSL, was sent a HubOne at start of new contract;  recently exchange upgraded to 21CN and have been having UNTIL RECENTLY, horrendous disconnection issues with HubOne.
One of benefits (of 21CN) was supposed to be better line stability (+ possibly minor speed jump).

Stability wasn't good initially though speed improved to circa 3.3mb which is good for me on long line (5km+ from exchange).
Since stability improved last week speed has dropped down to 2.7/2.8mbps; did try & router restart yesterday (after 4 days of solid connection) in hope of getting faster re connection, but still at the 2.7 figure on pcl-bng02 gateway.

No disconnects since reconnect.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,430
Thanks: 1,187
Fixes: 92
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(


eckythump wrote:

1. You were using the DSL and not the WAN port to connect the router to the phone socket weren't you? Yes this is exactly how I had it configured with the RJ11 Cable Connected directly to the Phone Socket using a Micro Filter.

2. An Apple Time Capsule was connected to Ethernet Port 1 and this is used to provide Wi-Fi access with the Wi-Fi on the Plusnet Hub One turned off. The  Apple Time Capsule is configured in Bridged Mode so all Routing, DNS forwarding & DHCP services are provided by the Hub One. If you have any more questions happy to answer them for you.


Thanks Simon. I remain confused in which case. ETHoA is the interface for the red-bordered WAN port as far as I know Huh

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

eckythump
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-09-2014

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

Hi Bob - just to confirm you confusion - I was 100% not using the Red WAN Port. Seem to have a stable connection now over VDSL at around 35Mb/s which considering I live out in the wilds of Gloucestershire  I can live with. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Already on 2nd Plusnet Hub One in a week :(

And as I expect you only had 20CN previously, you can more than live with it Wink