cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice please - thinking of changing to fibre

dragnil

Advice please - thinking of changing to fibre

Hi, I'm new to PlusNet after 10 years with Pipex and now successfully escaping from Talktalk. I've searched the site and can't find the answer to question so here goes - please keep it as simple as possible, I'm getting old and easily confused Wink
I'm thinking of upgrading to 40/10 fibre service when BT makes it available in a couple of months time. I really don't think I'll need the faster version, I'm not a gamer and do only a bit of iplayer although that may increase when it's easier. It's the mechanics of it that I'd like to clarify...
My understanding is that the man from BT changes the master socket and plugs a new modem into it. My existing router then plugs into that (?) and the rest of the network, printers, 3 Pcs and various wireless laptops work from the existing router. Is that OK so far?
The problem is, as for many people, the master socket is in the hall just inside the front door and the router, PCs, printers etc are upstairs in what I laughingly call a study. Running CAT5E downstairs looks difficult without upsetting the boss so I turned to powerline adapters as there's a power socket near the phone master socket. Is it as easy as connecting the new modem to an adapter and putting a second adapter upstairs and connecting the PN router to that?
If the concept is OK so far, can anyone comment on the TP-Link TL-PA411KIT 500Mbps Mini Powerline Adapter - Twin Pack on sale at ebuyer or do I need to consider the more expensive gigabit version?
I hope that's clear and thanks in advance for any suggestions and guidance.
David
7 REPLIES 7
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Re: Advice please - thinking of changing to fibre