cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actual download speed only 12.5% of BT or Plusnet Test Figures

TheProfessor
Grafter

Actual download speed only 12.5% of BT or Plusnet Test Figures

Hi all, I am new to this forum and any/all help would be appreciated.
Although I am a retired lecturer in electrical and electronics engineering, comm's was not my area.
I have copper cable broadband whose original estimated download speed was 6 Mb/s.  After 2 weeks the test figure of 0.2Mb/s came through.  I ran the Plusnet test and a figure of around 180kb/s was displayed before it stopped and gave an "upload test returned an error".  The more reliable BT test completed successfully and returned figures of: download = 180 kb/s and upload = 340 kb/s.  However, whilst downloading files I see a figure of around 25 kb/s (around 0.4% of the original figure and 12.5% of test figures).   
My router is a Netgear DGND3700V2 and is displaying the following stat's:
Sync' = 283/444 kb/s (download/upload)
Attenuation = 48.5/30.3 dB* (download/upload)
SNR = 7/26.5 dB* (download/upload)
*Do these figures seem high to you?  Additional:  I turn the router off after I have used it.  I have seen comments that suggest leaving it turned on 24/7 will make a difference.  How much of a difference does it usually make?  Would it be enough to close the gap significantly?
Much obliged, in anticipation.
The Professor.
16 REPLIES 16
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Actual download speed only 12.5% of BT or Plusnet Test Figures

There is a major problem
First are all the devices you have connected to your phone line filtered including phones. sky box, fax , etc.
If they aren't remove or filter all of them then disconnect the router from the phone line and reconnect then report the stats
If they are then can you connect the router to the test socket - behind the lower removable part of the master socket
Then report the stats again
TheProfessor
Grafter

Hi, Oldjim.