cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Hi
Can someone tell me if these errors look high for new connection of 14 Days.
Most games on the PS4 are unplayable due to lag.
Phil
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Hi Phil, welcome to the forum.
It's always a good idea to quote the exact uptime when looking at stats. But based on your 14 days time, they do look a touch high, even considering there's no Interleaving. The Upstream looks a lot poorer than | would have expected as well. This might account for your poor gaming experience that you've also mentioned in another thread.
Can you hear any audible noise, crackling or otherwise on your phone line at all?
If need be, try the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2. Have you had any problem with incoming or outgoing calls?
Can you do the following please -
Run  the BTw Performance test (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test.
Do a Copy and Paste of the results and post here (no need to grab an image).
Check your Current Line speed (Login required) (don't post the phone number), also check which Gateway you are on.
Can you also open a Cmd window and do tracert ntp.plus.net and post that as well.
piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Hi
Thanks for the response.
There is no noise on the line test, I don't even use the house phone so I unplug it.
Openreach Engineers have been out a couple of times first thing in the morning and can't find any errors when he test. Perhaps a time related issue.
I've included a pingplotter screen grab for reference also, I can see sometimes it jumps from 10 to 50ms on some hops.
I get packet loss on hop 6 but I'm assuming thats just the switch too busy to answer and dumping the packet.

See requested results below.

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
16.95 Mbps

0 Mbps 21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 16.95 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 17.45 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.84 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.84Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.

----------------------------
Telephone number:
    01628
Phone exchange:
    MAIDENHEAD
Estimated line speed:
    17Mb (This may vary between 16Mb and 19.5Mb) - Checked on 2015-05-15 18:51:42
Current line speed:
    17.4 Mb
---------------------------
Which gateway
You are currently connected to gateway ptn-bng01.
This is located in Telehouse North.
--------------------------
  1    2 ms    2 ms    2 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    14 ms    12 ms    14 ms  lo0.12.central12.ptn-bng01.plus.net [195.166.128.230]
  3    14 ms    12 ms    13 ms  irb.12.ptw-cr01.plus.net [84.93.249.33]
  4    12 ms    17 ms    12 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5]
  5    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  po2.ptw-gw02.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Hop 6 does seem to timeout for me, so that router must be configured to ignore the request.
How is the gaming right now? If the error issue is time related, is it ok at the moment? Is that the 2704n modem/router you are using?
piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Hi
I wasn't near the game last night so wasn't able to test, yes its the 2704n.  I also have a draytek 2820n business router I can test with
I'm playing Destiny now and the game is unplayable.
I'm going to bridge my ps4 through my pc so i can grab some wireshark logs.
I can post here if that helps as I only know a bit about wire shark
For ref:
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.13.49]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    16 ms    4 ms    2 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    19 ms    18 ms    14 ms  lo0.12.central12.ptn-bng01.plus.net [195.166.128.230]
  3    11 ms    14 ms    12 ms  irb.12.ptw-cr01.plus.net [84.93.249.33]
  4    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5]
  5    12 ms    13 ms    14 ms  po2.ptw-gw02.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    13 ms    11 ms    14 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.13.49]
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Those pings don't look out of the way for time of day.
You'll have to keep the shark's to less than 4M when printed to a pdf file, otherwise you won't be able to attach them to a post.
But if you like, we can tell you what to look for in the shark, you may only need to post some sample bits anyway, if the Traffic Management happened to be wrong.
Testing with your Draytek Modem/Router might be a good idea if we see nothing else amiss.
piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

I agree not real issue with the pings to the ntp server.
On side note, I do see a lot of jitter when I video conference,  It seems to be anything related to UDP.  My vc application uses UDP46000 and I see it fluctuate from 10ms to 50ms but other users in the meeting sit pretty stable.
I've got a wireshark file of 5 meg that is put on one drive http://1drv.ms/1RYJU3M
If you can tell me what to look for in the shark wire that would be helpful.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

OK, got it, but I'll have to look a bit later (if someone else doesn't beat me to it). Will post when I do.
piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Great, Thank you for taking the time to look.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

OK had a quick look. Attached is a screen grab of a random line (3815) in the capture.
In the box below, you'll see I've expanded "Internet Protocol Version 4" and the line to be looking at is "Differential Services Field" and you can see where it says "0xa0".
The a0 is the traffic classification, which is Titatnium (top priority).
Other classifications are 80 which is Gold, 60 is Gold Plated, 40 is Silver, 20 is Bronze, 00 is Unclassified. Upstream traffic - which hasn't got to Plusnet will always be 00 for that very reason.
I did spot some servers 92.59.200.154 & 83.252.71.142 (lines 5973&4 classified  as Gold for example, there were others.
Now, I'm not a Gamer and I don't know what those particular servers are, so whether that's correct or not I can't say.
It's possible that Plusnet haven't got the/a correct signature for this Game. If you check which servers the Game uses and list them, and may be mention what  the examples I've highlighted are if they are correct, that'll give a better understanding.
I'm bearing in mind we are now talking about Gaming traffic rather than errors, so depending on how things develop, it may be advisable to move the thread to the Gaming Board if more Gamer knowledge is needed.
piplowe
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-06-2015

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

Thank you for the response and apologies for the delay.
I'm playing Destiny on the PS4 which uses peer to peer networking, a matchmaking server is hosted by Activision but after that all traffic is passed via all the players in the lobby to a host PS4 (I'm assuming the one with the best connection). I can see at line 13725 I'm sending out 11 outbound packets but received them back in bursts.

In the wireshark log I provided you pointed out some users traffic inbound is being prioritised by not others, I saw this too and it's strange as they are all using port 3074 and this is the same port for Xbox and PS4.
Thanks very much for your help.
I think I'll take it up with the Plusnet support direct or if any admins see this please can you assist.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

I'll have another look at the shark, and see if I can't point some PN staff in it's direction.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Acceptable ADSL Errors ?

I have asked if someone could look at the Wireshark, but not heard anything back as yet, I don't know if you have?