cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2+ ?

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

ADSL2+ ?

Hi guys...Just a quick question
Samknows says our exchange is going to be 21cn upgraded by the end of March next year ?
However BT reckon this technology is available now at our exchange  (Resolven)
Would this allow a speed upgrade ?
We are getting fttc in 2015...but just wondered if this 21cn would give me a faster download speed ?
A bit confused
Thanks all
Leighton
31 REPLIES
Dazzer
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-10-2013

Re: ADSL2+ ?

I just recently migrated to the 21CN connection on my exchange, having seen the RFS date keep nudging back.
The BT checker proved accurate and although this was about 3 weeks ago Sam Knows still says 31/01/2014.
The speed increase will depend on your distance to the exchange, the closer the more dramatic the increase with ADSL2+
I went from around 8Mb/s to 15.5Mb/s (About a 1Km line length)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Put your phone number in here http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/

Customer and Forum Moderator.

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Yep
Says all 4 are available ? Wish I could do a screenshot to show you...
Does it cost any more ? Do I need a new modem ?
I feel quite excited...sad i know , but my life is quite dull... Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

It doesn't cost any more and most routers around these days support ADSL2+.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Thanks Strat...
So what do I need to do then ?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

You could raise a ticket requesting an upgrade or wait until tomorrow and maybe a DC Team member will pick it up.
Personally I would pick the second option but it's up to you.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Thanks Strat...seems you are the fount off all knowledge here !!
What is a DC rep ?
One last question....would the upload speed be better after the upgrade ?
I am getting about 7 meg at the moment....and it reckons 11 will be the speed on the new ADSL2+ line
Is it all done remotely or does an engineer have to call ?
Damn , that's 2 questions...
Shocked
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

The fount is about to run dry Wink
Plusnet Digital Care Team....these are the Plusnet employees who prowl the forum during office hours.
I can't really give you a speed prediction but it's done remotely and doesn't require an engineer visit.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

If I could buy you a large drink..I would...Dandelion and Burdock ? Or Cherryade....
Might raise a ticket anyways.. belts and braces...
Thanks for all your help...
Leighton
beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Ah bugger...just read the FAQ and the upgrade is not available to Unlimited users...
I knew it was too good to be true...
Angry Sad
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

I take it you mean this http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/adsl2+_faq.shtml#whenForMe
Quote
Upgrades are available to all residential products apart from Plusnet Unlimited.

Maybe someone can enlighten us Undecided

Customer and Forum Moderator.

beaky32
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

Yes....Only one month left on my contract...could be time for a change ?
Shame as I am MORE than satisfied with Plusnet and wouldn't move, unless I am gong to be penalised for paying for the highest priced product available to ADSL customers...
Bugger !!
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,006
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ ?

I and many others are on Unlimited and also ADSL2+.
I don't understand that FAQ.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,976
Thanks: 375
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ADSL2+ ?

That ADSL2+ FAQ is old, and the unavailability of ADSL2+ is referring to the old Plusnet Unlimited product that dates from 2009.
ADSL2+ is available for the more recent Unlimited product.