cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2+ Request.

wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

ADSL2+ Request.

Hi, I've been waiting patiently for my exchange to be upgraded to offer ADSL2+, it has been put back regularly. The BT availability checker is now saying that ADSL2+ is available at my exchange. Could someone from the digital care team place the order for me to be moved over to ADSL2+ please?
I'm half expecting that the checker is wrong and it still isn't available, but if it is could you also please uncap the upload and make sure that I'm no longer charged for the Max Premium product once the switch takes place?
Thanks in advance,
Wo0x.
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,637
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Hi there.
The good news is that the checker is correct and ADSL2+ is available.
I've placed the order with uncapped upload by default and this will complete on the 17th
I'll also make sure that Max Premium gets removed for you when it changes over
Any further issues please give us a shout
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Thank you for the fast response, Matthew. Much appreciated.
Cheers,
Wo0x Smiley
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Hi, I'm now on ADSL2+ but I think the IP profile on Plusnet's side needs changing. Router stats are showing a download sync of 16025, but the line speed in my Plusnet account is still 7.15.
Quote
SNR Up 5.7
SNR down 6.2
Line Attenuation Up : 13.1
Line Attenuation Down : 19.0
Data Rate Up : 1135
Data Rate Down : 16025

I can't check my IP profile on the BT speedtester as it has always returned an error for me even before the switch.
Could one of the Digital Care Team please change my profile on Plusnet's side?
Thanks in advance,
Wo0x.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

ADSL2+ is pretty straightforward to work out the IP profile, multiply the sync rate by 0.882.
16025 * 0.882 = 14134
I'll go update our side now.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,637
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Looks like it needed a kick on our systems.
I've done that now and if you log into your router then disconnect and reconnect your connection the speeds should improve
Any further issues please let us know
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Matthew got there before me!
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Wow, that was a fast response!
Download result at speedtest.net is 13.25, a nice increase from 6.66....
Thanks to you both Cheesy
davidj66
Rising Star
Posts: 623
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-09-2008

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Can I ask whether that is wired or wireless? I've changed over (yesterday) and I can get 15Mbps+ wired -but can't seem to get more than 7.8Mbps on wireless connections, even in the same room as the router -I haven't got n adaptors -only 11g on my laptop/desktops -but I expected a bit more of an uplift as I was getting up to 7Mbps on ADSL Max wirelessly!!
EDIT -It isn't the router because I can get 14-15 Mbps on an Android tablet.
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Hi, David.
I get the same results on my laptop whether I use WIFI or ethernet.
Cheers,
Wo0x.
davidj66
Rising Star
Posts: 623
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-09-2008

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

I've just solved it ,thanks. Found that changing the router wireless setting from b/g/n to b/g only allows full thruput on all devices -don't ask me why it worked but it did!!
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

I just noticed this in my account
Quote
Submitting regrade to "BT IPStream Max"
and
Quote
Your Help Assistant Question has been placed on hold until Tuesday 24th December while BT perform the regrade on your line. If you have any further queries regarding this order, please raise this by creating a new Question on your account as this issue will be unmonitored until the above date.

Is that just referring to the removal of the Max Premium add-on?
Also, is Annex M available? I'm not requesting it just yet, I'm happy to see how things go for now, but would just like to know if that would be an option?
One final thing, would these errors be considered normal?
Quote
CRC Down : 0
CRC Up : 1455
FEC Down : 0
FEC Up : 5487
HEC Down : 4223
HEC Up : 0

On 20CN my error count over the last 20 days was 5 (five) total. The above is over an 11 hour period since the switch to ADSL2+ I've not had any issues, but as I'm not used to seeing errors I thought I'd ask.
Thanks in advance,
Wo0x.
*edit* Full stats from my router, including updated error count (1 day, 6hrs, 30 minutes.)
Quote
Modulation : ADSL2+
Annex Mode : Annex A/L
Line State : up
Lan Tx : 126299135
Lan Rx : 84769387
ADSL Tx : 2557887
ADSL Rx : 4000881
CRC Down : 0
CRC Up : 3481
FEC Down : 0
FEC Up : 13041
HEC Down : 9935
HEC Up : 04
SNR Up : 6.1
SNR Down : 6.0
Line Attenuation Up : 13.1
Line Attenuation Down : 19.0
Data Rate Up : 1135
Data Rate Down : 16025


Just reading through other threads, shouldn't my sync rate be higher with a 19.0 attenuation?
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

Quote from: Matthew
Looks like it needed a kick on our systems.
I've done that now and if you log into your router then disconnect and reconnect your connection the speeds should improve
Any further issues please let us know

Hi,
Could you give my IP profile on Plusnet's side another nudge please?
The bad weather has caused a number of power-cuts here. After the first one, my sync rate was 19075, which answers my question of whether I should/could be getting a higher sync with my 19db (now 20db attenuation.) Unfortunately after several more power-cuts the sync is now at 17977, but that's still higher than it was originally. My IP profile on the BT tester is 15.86. It's good to see that tester actually works for me now btw.

It says max achievable speed is 21Mbps. What do you think the highest sync that I could hope for would be and is there anything I can do to make the router sync at the highest rate possible?  I'd imagine hoping the power stays on for several days and then rebooting would be the answer, judging by the 19074 sync earlier. Also, how is my upload result higher than the max achievable? Cheesy Upload sync is 1143 btw.
Thanks in advance,
Wo0x.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ Request.

I've updated the profile to 15800 so it matches the IP profile shown for you.
You might see the sync improve if you do a disconnect and reboot during daylight hours, but only do that once per day.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff