cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL checker incorrect

ebostgriff
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-07-2014

ADSL checker incorrect

When will I be connected to fibre broadband?

The ADSL checker says that I am connected to Longton cabinet 18 and fibre is available.

I have had problems with fibre broadband since April and have been visited by 6 Openreach "engineers", to no avail. The last one told me that I was not connected to the cabinet, which is about 200 metres away, but am copper all the way to the exchange, about 1100 metres.

Plusnet have just reverted me to ADSL, and refunded my fibre broadband fees.

Some of my neighbours do have fibre, but for some reason Openreach took our cable past the cabinet without connecting it.

I can't ask Openreach directly, so when will I be connected to fibre broadband?

12 REPLIES
bmc
Pro
Posts: 435
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

I'm assuming you mean  the following site when you say the ADSL checker.

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

If you're in Lancs then the Codelook website has the following status of Cabinet P18

FTTC Available from 18th May 2017  

If in Lancs then the status is

FTTC Available from 29th January 2014, being expanded by April 2018, some with 18/2M product  

 

It's not unknown that OpenReach records can be updated incorrectly but you would have thought one of six engineers would have found this out. If you are on an Exchange Only line (EO) and the DSL checker is saying cab P18 then OpenReach records are wrong somewhere.

 

Brian

 

ebostgriff
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-07-2014

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Than you for your reply, Brian.

Yes, that is the checker which is wrong.

A long story, but basically:

Plusnet activated my fibre broadband on 14th March 1917. I was getting speeds of about 28 Mbs compared with the 14 I got on ADSL.

I immediately had problems with it constantly dropping out.

The speed was reduced to around 22 MBS which improved it slightly.

I had visits from 5 Openreach "engineers" who made not much difference. I gave up when I was told that my fibre would be upgraded soon.

Plusnet later told me that my fibre broadband would be upgraded on 6th September.

On that date I lost both phone and broadband.

After a week without them, "engineer" number 6 turned up. He thought it would be a quick job.

After a few hours, he restored my phone and told me that the problem was that on 6th September cabinet 18 was activated, which caused the loss of my supply.

He said that the cable for myself and a few neighbours, attached to one specific pole, was not connected to cabinet 18 but to a fibre cabinet 5 metres from the exchange, 1100 metres from my house.

He did not know if or when our cable would be connected to cabinet 18.

Plusnet reverted me to ADSL.

All I want to know is when I will be connected to fibre!!

 

bmc
Pro
Posts: 435
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

If you're in Lancs then there is a capacity issue with P18 which isn't scheduled to be sorted until April next year.

 

If I remember correctly PlusNet can request a check on a line to confirm the path it takes to see if OpenReach records are wrong.

 

Brian

ebostgriff
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-07-2014

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Thanks again, Brian.

Yes, I am in Lancs.

I 'll have to be patient!!

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

The ADSL checker says that I am connected to Longton cabinet 18 and fibre is available.

I have raised a request [TAGs query] with our suppliers to investigate that.

 

I can't ask Openreach directly, so when will I be connected to fibre broadband?

It's difficult to say. We'd check the same resources as you; www.dslchecker.bt.com and https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co.uk/when-can-i-get-fibre.aspx

 

I've seen FTTP [Fibre To The Premises] become available before the regular FTTC service for exchange only lines, but we wouldn't be able to advise when that'd happen I'm afraid. Sad

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
bmc
Pro
Posts: 435
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

@Gandalf 

For information OpenReach have changed their website and your link no longer works. You need either of the following

https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/index.do

https://www.homeandbusiness.openreach.co.uk/fibre-broadband/when-can-i-get-fibre 

The first link takes you to the second.

 

Brian

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Thanks for the heads up!

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
ebostgriff
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-07-2014

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Thanks again, but it's still wrong, FTTC is not available on my line.

 

 

bmc
Pro
Posts: 435
Thanks: 79
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

It was a website update, not their "database"

 

Brian

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Sorry to resurrect this thread but I thought I'd update you here @ebostgriff

Our suppliers can confirm that your line is now routed through a fibre cab. If you'd like to give this another shot, I'd recommend calling Customer Options on 0800 013 2632 to place a fibre order.


Drop me a reply over here or a PM and I'll be happy to monitor the progress for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,379
Thanks: 634
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

@ebostgriff

Plusnet activated my fibre broadband on 14th March 1917.

Wow - that is impressive - over 60 years before the Internet was invented! Cheesy

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Jonpe
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 2
Registered: 05-09-2016

Re: ADSL checker incorrect

Then the Russian revolution took place and it was suspended till the 1980s. Smiley