cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL Question

Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

ADSL Question


Hi,
I know my broadband hasn't been active for a whole 24 hours yet - but it is working well... One thing I noticed though, is that the router is reporting the ADSL type as G.992.1 - I thought our exchange was 21CN enabled, and therefore ADSL2+ ? Is this just a TG582n quirk?
I doubt I'd get an increase in speed as I am showing a downstream attenuation of 41 dB and margin of 6.8 dB (current sync is about 6800Kbpbs)... I think I managed about 7500 Kbps on Sky - but not quibbling as it is better that no broadband - which is what we've had for the past month!
Andy
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL Question

With that attenuation you could expect 8mbps+.
Put your telephone number in to http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome
If it doesn't list WBC  ADSL 2+ your exchange is still 20CN only.
The other possibility is that you've been put on ADSL1 on 21CN - but that would be strange given your speed.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

Re: ADSL Question


Hi jelv,
Just checked it says that WBC ADSL 2+ is available (I had to use the postcode checker as my telephone no. is new)... I also checked the exchange at samknows...
Probably just on ADSL1...
Andy
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: ADSL Question

Hi there,
Yes, you seem to be on ADSL1 over 21CN. I don't see much point modifying the service to ADSL2+ given that your current speed profile is over the original estimate.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

Re: ADSL Question


Hi Adam,
No, that's fine - best left alone as it wouldn't be much better on 2+
Cheers,
Andy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL Question

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
Hi there,
Yes, you seem to be on ADSL1 over 21CN. I don't see much point modifying the service to ADSL2+ given that your current speed profile is over the original estimate.
Adam

I disagree - the predicted speed on Kitz's utility for a 41 db attenuation is 6688 on ADSL1 and 8640 for ADSL2+
Has the upload speed been restricted to 448 as well - if so that should be uncapped.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

Re: ADSL Question


Actually yes, good point the upload is at 448...
Is the change to ADSL2+ just a config update or does someone need to move wires - I am jittery about moving wires in the exchange...  Shocked
If it is just a profile update can it be switched for me?
Ta,
Andy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL Question

It's just a config update. It's an overnight job and if it causes problems an overnight to change back.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: ADSL Question

Yep, it's modify order. That's now placed and due to complete tomorrow, I've added a brief note to your account to confirm what I've done.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

Re: ADSL Question

Cool, Thanks Adam...
We'll see what happens Smiley
Andy
Agrajag
Grafter
Posts: 74
Registered: 02-09-2013

Re: ADSL Question

Thanks Adam and jelv, definite improvement after change to ADSL2+ overnight  Grin - you can see from the stats attached...
Andy