cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

onedoc1
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 22-03-2016

ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

Please could someone adjust or reset my ip profile on plusnet side to sync with bt wholesale at 6.81 Mbps thanks.

BT WHOLESALE STATS

Download speed achieved during the test was - 5.13 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 6.81 Mbps

PLUSNET STATS:

Current line speed: 5.3 Mb
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

Hello @onedoc1

 

And, done.

 

If you disconnect and reconnect your PPP session you should see a slight increase in throughput.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,975
Thanks: 1,508
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

@Anoush,

i thought that the failure to track BT profile changes was fully resolved, making the need for manual intervention a thing of the past?

An opportunity to eliminate the need to contact support?

 

@PlusnetLiam,

Does by any chance this forum tool have (hidden?) means to enable PN staff to catagorise the nature of an issue raised so that some level of issue type counting can be performed to identify opportunities to eliminate the need to contact support / apply focus for service improvement?

If there is no such in-built capability then may be the use of tags might help as in #profilereset ?  Such use to be restricted either by technology or agreed practices by the community members.

What do you think?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

@Townman - To be honest, the profile was actually correct before. As the sync was 6283 kbps. I'd thought to give the profile a nudge to match the sync, but delta reports from suppliers have knocked it back down again.

 

-Edit-

The current line rate is 5369 kbps which is on target for our profile of 5300 kbps.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,975
Thanks: 1,508
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

@Anoush,

On the basis of the information in the OP the profiles were not in synch.

The fact that the profile has gone down again rather implies that the synch speed has changed / the line has stability issues.  (For others) if this is an adsl2 service then the profile is 82% of the synch speed, I'd ADSL then the profile is constrained to synch speed 'bands'.

@onedoc1,

It wold be worth while you following the speed issue thread guidance and posting your router stats here.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a corded phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket. It should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,635
Thanks: 617
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

i thought that the failure to track BT profile changes was fully resolved, making the need for manual intervention a thing of the past?

They're largely irrelevant on the new network, the profile on our side doesn't impact the throughput.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,975
Thanks: 1,508
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

...unless you are still on the original network / have a fixed IP address?

At the risk of going off topic, are you able to indicate what proportion of the user base have been moved ... and confirm that those of us with fixed IPs will not be moved over?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: ADSL IP Profile Reset/adjustment

I believe that even if you have a static IP you'll still be moved over to the dedicated network.

However, using a static IP routes the traffic through L2TP.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support