cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

Now from what I can gather with the USB port on the Technicolor TG582n router, you can use this as a back up connection with a 3G dongle (is this right?).  Also can you use the USB port with a USB memory stick and wireless storage?
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

Quote
you can use this as a back up connection with a 3G dongle (is this right?)

With some 3g dongles yes, see here for some setup details http://wiki.aa.org.uk/index.php/TG582N#3G_setup ( and the further notes links ). It doesn't do an automatic failover though , you need to manually connect
Quote
Also can you use the USB port with a USB memory stick

Yes , as long as its formatted FAT32 ( or plain FAT ).
The current PlusNet supplied ADSL routers don't have a USB port though. Some FTTC ones may still have USB , not sure...
Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

Re: A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

Quote from: MisterW
Yes , as long as its formatted FAT32 ( or plain FAT ).
The current PlusNet supplied ADSL routers don't have a USB port though. Some FTTC ones may still have USB , not sure...

Yes it has a USB port.  Also should have said it is the FTTC router.
kamsamji
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 02-02-2013

Re: A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

I don't have a USB port on my tg582n. Am I missing out on any features?
for some reason, my Lg tv finds teh Router, but seems to think there are 3 folders in there: Music; Video; and Pictures!! God know here it is getting that from. I thought possibly froma  USB that may bee plugged in, but realised that it doesn't have one!
Thansk
pint
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

Quote from: Timalay
Quote from: MisterW
Yes , as long as its formatted FAT32 ( or plain FAT ).
The current PlusNet supplied ADSL routers don't have a USB port though. Some FTTC ones may still have USB , not sure...

Yes it has a USB port.  Also should have said it is the FTTC router.

Where is the USB port? theres no standard port on the router that ive been supplied with.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,457
Thanks: 798
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: A couple of questions regarding the Technicolor TG582n

The USB port is present only on the Fibre version of the TG582n.
David