cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

888kbps upload 'bug'

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

888kbps upload 'bug'

Just wondered if anyone had any ideas why my upload speed is always 888kbps.  I am on 21CN ADSL2+, with a fairly decent download speed (7968 on a 46dB attn), yet since I had my upload speed uncapped ages ago, its always been 888 even though I have overheads for more (Current SNR upload is 10dB). I never bothered really, but since my parents were moved to ADSL2+, they have over 3500 download on an 59dB line, but just under 1Mb upload speed, and are on the same exchange, but further away.
Wondered if anyone had any ideas.  i have a Netgear DG834PN Router on the latest firmware.  It holds sync on my line like glue, even thought the DLM insists on a 3db margin on the line
ADSL Link                 Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 7968 kbps         888 kbps
Line Attenuation         46.0 db                 23.1 db
Noise Margin           2.8 db                 10.5 db
12 REPLIES
houlton23
Grafter
Posts: 268
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

I believe it it limited to 888kbps when interleaving is turned on. We had this but the DLM turned interleaving off for our upstream after around a week on the 21CN platform.
I think that as long as you are on ADSL2/2+ then PN can selectively control interleaving for the upstream and downstream seperately, so should be able to get the cap lifted for you on Monday.
For note, here's our stats:
DSL Type: G.992.3 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,051 / 4,690
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.0 / 48.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.0 / 5.0
Alex Smiley
caulbox
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: 19-06-2009

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Quote from: houlton23
I believe it it limited to 888kbps when interleaving is turned on.....I think that as long as you are on ADSL2/2+ then PN can selectively control interleaving for the upstream and downstream seperately

Interesting snippets of info. Thanks Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Thanks for the info.  hopefully one of the DCT, can oblige tomorrow.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Hi Penfold,
What do you want me to oblige, to have interleaving on downstream but off on upstream?
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

hi jojo
Can we try interleaving OFF on Upstream only, and see how that goes please
Rgrds
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Hi penfold,
I've just done that now. We normally say allow 24 hours to take effect.
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Hi jojo
nothings happened yet....  Do I have to do a manual resync??  I thought that the change would have brought about an automatic resync of the connection.
mikeyriot
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: 20-12-2010

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

If you havnt already, I'd definately do a manual resync using the router's gui.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 35
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

@penfold
I've just double checked and can see that the order has completed fine. Do let us know if you;'re still having an issue.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

@Adam/Jojo
Still upload stuck at 888. DMT tool still thinks I have interleaving on Up and Downstream. Depth 64 down, 8 up
Synced at 8400 Down with a 3dB margin, and 888 Up with a 12dB margin.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

Hi penfold,
I'm sorry to say that unless something went funky with the order, I may have asked for the wrong profile. I'll do it again now and double check before I click submit.
I can only attribute this to a blonde moment Smiley
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: 888kbps upload 'bug'

No probs jojo. We all have these moments :crazy
I will see how things go after the order completes. Will you let me know?