cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

800 ping tonight shocking

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

800 ping tonight shocking

Ive only been with plusnet 7 days now up to tonight my online gaming has been fine but tonight ive had major lag and 811 pings. Ive just had house rewired all cables and bt sockets are new.... before u ask ;E  Ive a new pc and new router,.
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,187
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Pings to where?  I know that there was a power outage in USA this morning that affected some of the major server farms, so anything hosted on eastern coast in US will be laggy till the congestion is cleared
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

in battlefield 3 i was on a uk hosted server and i ping normally at 21ms, only i out of 15 others could not move and when i checked ping it read 811ms. its only affected me.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Hi ukste,
If you've been with us for 7 days, your line will still be in the 10 training period. If you give it 3 more days, your line should have settled down.
If you've got any further issues after that, be sure to let us know and we'll look into it for you Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,791
Thanks: 1,409
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Hi ukste, i was on BF3 severs last night but my ping was only 20ish never any higher ,  have you any background program's running ?  AV updates ? or windows update on ?
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

na none mate, ive been online gaming a few years now so those were first things i ckecked for Wink
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,791
Thanks: 1,409
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

one other thing to try is to Disable UPNP on your router , if things havent changed  Wink
what connection are you on ? fibre or copper
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

im not on fibre so i must be on copper Wink it could well be the 10 training period today is my 10th day, pings have been back to normal and speeds are normal, ive had 3 connections drops but i guess this might be part of the training period .
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Looking at your connection, it look's like it has settled down. It's just a case of monitoring it now to see how it goes.
Let me know if you have any issues with your connection.
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Im happy with current test ive just ran.
But that test was futher away, when i run a speedtest to a server which is an hours drive from me i get this...

I thought if i ran a speedtest with a server closer to me, my speed would be higher and my ping lower as they aint travelling as far. But when i run speedtest to locations down south eg london areas, my ping is much lower.
just out of intrest is this normal?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

Although it's closer to your premises, it's actually further away from the equipment your connection terminates on. For a ping to that Carlisle server the traffic has to go to London and then back to Carlisle, so it's right that the ping is higher.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

is the 35 ping about right for my connection and distance? As im an online gamer having a lower ping can sometimes be just as important as having a good speed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

@ ukste, far better to ping from a Windows command prompt (or equivalent in other OSs), I usually use ping bbc.co.uk as that indicates what you get to the real world beyond the PlusNet network but close enough to the London datacentres that it isn't normally too affected by other factors.  Speedtest.net pings are not always that reliable.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 393
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

35ms ping is a good ping. 
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,791
Thanks: 1,409
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: 800 ping tonight shocking

This is what i get from Yorkshire  Wink

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .