Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

80 Meg service provisioned as a 40 meg port

Scottishlad79
Grafter

80 Meg service provisioned as a 40 meg port

Hi,
I have ordered the unlimited 80 meg package, the wholesale checker shows my max atainable rate as being 32meg with 5 meg upload, Should this be provided as a 40 meg port of the Fibre Cab or should it be uncapped 80,
The reason i ask this is im actually an engineer with openreach and i went to provide my own line this morning at the cab, to find the line was a fixed 40 meg at the cab not 80 as ordered,  this wouldnt be a problem if the lines max synch rate was 32 as estimated, however the router at the house is in synch at 40 meg with 9 meg upload, and an snr margin of 12db, the estimated max synch rate of the line is 57 meg.... so in theory by the line being ordered as the 40 meg product im loosing 10-17.
Could one of the support guys tell me if this is something that can be altered after my lines been in synch and stable for a few days?
Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
Pettitto
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 5

Re: 80 Meg service provisioned as a 40 meg port

The order isn't showing as complete yet on our suppliers systems so I am unable to check what you are provisioned to. It sounds as though you have been provisioned on 40/10, most likely based on your line estimate. Once the order is showing as complete we can look at getting you moved over to 80/20 (takes 24 hours to complete).
Scottishlad79
Grafter

Thanks chris thats great,
Yeah the order wont show as complete yet, its not actuall scheduled till tomoz afternoon so i cant actually get a ppp session up yet as i expected but i have checked the order and the port and both state 40/10 which has to be better than the 1.5 meg I previously had, just seems a waste not to have that extra 10+ meg if the line can cope, ill drop you a pm chris once the line is in service and you could maybe look at it for me