cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6500 IP Profile

delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

6500 IP Profile

Should my IP Profile be higher than 6500? I am the Pro package.I am about 800 Meters as the crow fly’s distance from the Bingley exchange
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,616
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.5 / 23.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 16.5
Uptime: 2 days, 20:24:33
this calc says I should get higher. http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php
55 REPLIES
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

No, 6500 is the maximum when interleaved is applied to the line as the maximum sync speed is 7616, and I'm assuming that your line is interleaved
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Wonder if it be worth getting it turned off? My line does look to be stable. How close do you need to be to the exchnage to get the the full 20mb or even 14mb connection?
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

The stats that you posted from you modem suggest that you are on adslMax and not adsl2+, as Bingley exchange support adsl2+ do you know whether you have been moved across to it?.
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Hard to say. I guess this should be somthing the nice people at plusnet could tell me. I am on the pro package to I would think id be on the ADSL2+
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Your modem will inform you whether you are connected using adsl2+, some modem will call it connection type(mode) and G.DMT = adslmax. You need to make sure that the connection type is set to auto.
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

I have a Thomson V7 router, ill have a dig around
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

is this it?  G.992.1 annex A
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Had a look at another posting with stats, as I can't use may modem stats as they are different to most other modems, what you looking for is DSL Type and the example below is for a ADSL2+ connect.
Quote
DSL Type:   G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   888 / 17,148
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   888 / 15,062
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Quote from: itsme
Had a look at another posting with stats, as I can't use may modem stats as they are different to most other modems, what you looking for is DSL Type and the example below is for a ADSL2+ connect.
Quote
DSL Type:   G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   888 / 17,148
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   888 / 15,062


DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Quote from: delaneya
is this it?  G.992.1 annex A

adslMax. Now the question is have you been placed onto a adslMax connection or is your modem setup to only use adslMax?
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Ill do what I can, and thats look at the modem. But as far as I can see there no way to change this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: 6500 IP Profile

AFAIK when Plusnet are going to move you over to 21CN and ADSL2+ you get an email advising it - usually it is two emails one for each I believe
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

I have sent a support request(#38639851)  to make the change. I will let you know of the result.
delaneya
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: 02-01-2011

Re: 6500 IP Profile

Still not heard anything from my support ticket. I will try and phone if I do not here anything by the end of the day.