cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3db SNR request

chapmantr
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 05-07-2012

3db SNR request

Is it possible to request that the target SNR be set to 3dB on my line? (username: trchapman1981)
Thanks,
Tim
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi Tim,
It looks as though your line is still in it's stabilisation period which is due to complete next Thursday. We can certainly reset the line to 3db then?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
chapmantr
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 05-07-2012

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi,
DLM did drop the target to 3dB for about a week until the router was rebooted, then it reset it back to 6dB.
Are you able to put through the request to get it manually changed to 3dB now?
Regards,
Tim
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi Tim,
That's been submitted for you, you should notice a change within the next couple of hours.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
chapmantr
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 05-07-2012

Re: 3db SNR request

Thanks for the quick response Chris.
Sadly it looks like the line can't quite cope with it set at 3dB, please could you change it back to 6dB?
Thanks,
Tim.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi Tim,
Unfortunately once an SNR Reset has been submitted, the line trains for a 10 day period - this means that we aren't allowed to touch the lien as we need to allow DLM to do it's thing.
I've sent an e-mail to our suppliers to see if this can be changed manually.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
chapmantr
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 05-07-2012

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi Chris,
That's fine, I'm surprised that DLM hasn't automatically increased the target back to 6dB, the connection's been up and down like a yo-yo.
Regards,
Tim
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: 3db SNR request

Hi Tim,
Likewise, I'm quite surprised too! Looks as though our suppliers have manually changed this for us on this occasion so hopefully that should help keep the connection stable.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer