cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30dB SRNM??????

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,107
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

30dB SRNM??????

E-mailed TP-Link tech support regarding some problems and the reply included:
Quote
I want to point out that, if the SNRM value is below 10dB, the ISP may need to check the ADSL line (or the modems problem). The normal value is 20dB, and it indicates a good line if it's higher than 30dB.

What, using a £10 modem router on a 62dB atten line? Shocked Shocked Huh Roll eyes
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

Hmmmmm....Interesting. Not too sure many of our customers would be happy with 30dB on their line!
Looks like everything is running fine on your connection at the minute Smiley
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,107
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

That's my thoughts, too Roll eyes
Had to go back to the TG585 as my TP-Link developed a fault where, after a re-sync, the downlink SRNM would be a constant 6dB for a while then oscillate between 4 and 6dB and finally drop steadily from 4dB, holding the connection to 0.8dB Cry The 585 has been at 3dB since I reconnected it and upped the sync to 4Mbps 2.25 days ago  Cheesy Cheesy
Just to add: this is down to PN getting a new segment of cable ducted to the house Cheesy
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

Ooh. That might explain the fluctuation in SNR then.
Let us know if you'd like anything looking at Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,107
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

Chris, could you adjust/get adjusted my "line speed", please.  It's been at 3.1M for a while but my BT profile has been 3.55M for the last 4 days 23 mins and 30 secs  Roll eyes (the time I've maintained a sync of more than 4Mbps Cheesy )
Thanks
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

I've just nudged that for you Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,107
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: 30dB SRNM??????

Thanks, Chris  Smiley
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.