cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

FIXED
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎27-02-2014

2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

Ok, so today I noticed my connection being sluggish...... Tried rebooting router 3 times...... Checked my current line speed @ PN, states 2.15Mbps...... Done a quiet line test, silent....... All speed tests I do results just above 2Mbps

 

Getting unbearable.......

Stats (just rebooted), here's my stats: http://pastebin.com/biGWQ72y

BT Speed Test: http://i.imgur.com/z6j0bmh.png

 

IP Profile? Broken router?

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

If your synch speed is over 8meg, BT profile is 7.42meg then you should be getting just over 7 meg throughput.   What's stopping you is the Plusnet "Current Line Speed" which for some reason is stuck at a low value.  

Hopefully someone from Plusnet will pick this ticket up and reset your profile.    If not you'll need to raise a fault with Plusnet, or try asking them via chat.   You'll need to do a disconnect/reconnect to bring the updated profile into effect, do this from the router web page if possible.

In these cases don't keep rebooting the router, this might make BT think there's a fault and start slowing your line down.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,667
Thanks: 659
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

What were your stats just before you rebooted the router? From testing the line there was a low connection speed, which caused the profile to drop. This has since increased back to match the BT IP Profile shown in the speedtest.

If you don't see the speeds back to normal try a single disconnect/reconnect.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 484
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

Chris, is that line running at the correct synch speed?   SNR margin seems high, but is he on a product that limits to 8meg download?   If not then is there a history of errors?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,667
Thanks: 659
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

Fix

The SNR target is very high, currently 15db. I'm just waiting for the full line test to complete before posting some stats etc.

 

 

  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 15.0 30.0
SNR Margin: 10.5 15.3
Errored Seconds: 0 0
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 3146239 6743879
Speed: 888 8416
 
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 10208 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 8166
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 86400 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 5175
Indicative Line Quality: A Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 2957
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎27-02-2014

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

As you can see, I was nearly up to a month solid. Near a month (30 days uptime) I normally see sluggish behaviour, this is why I rebooted, it normally sorts it.  I have never seen my IP profile lower at all since with PN, so that is confusing in itself.

 

About my SNR, that is another story: https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/15db-target-again/m-p/1299272https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/SNR-still-high/m-p/1301245https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/SNR-check/m-p/1276128 (and yes, I'm still waiting for someone to help move stuff about)... Still a mystery why it's sticking to 15snr though.

 

And I can confirm, it's back to ~7mbps http://www.speedtest.net/result/5369938738.png

XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎27-02-2014

Re: 2Mbps with 8Mbps sync speed

I assume the test was all ok... I'll mark this as "fixed"...