cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

20 bytes per second

newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

20 bytes per second

Download from any site 20 bytes/second.
All sites taking 15 mins to load.
sync speed 5846 ok.
have tried 2 different routers and reset both to factory defaults.
4 computers in house all same problem.
checked next door who are also PlusNet and they are at full speed.
rang plusnet - can't see a problem and advised me to try bt speedtester - it times out.
internet unusable - on emergency dial up number.
any one else or is it just me ?
63 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: 20 bytes per second

Have you exceeded your usage allowance - always the first question I know but it has to be asked
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

as i said in my post PlusNet tell they can't see a problem.
I have not exceeded my allowance
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

ye ha  -  back on adsl - now getting an earth shattering 3.1 kb per sec download speed.
something wrong somewhere but PlusNet say not !!
not amused - so much for business support on my account
SeanM
Grafter
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎17-01-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

Odd you are getting poor download speeds and I am having problems with browsing. BTW I've just downloaded something and got fantastic speeds.
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

odd thing is that only http traffic is dead slow.
thunderbird mail and windows mail are up to speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 20 bytes per second

What DNS settings have you got?
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

automatically assigned - not a dns problem - ip addresses are being resolved instantly but pages are dead slow to load.
Due to the ampont of problems I and my referrals have had with PN in the last 3 months (see my previous posts)
the time has probably come to ask for a MAC code. it@s just one thing after another.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 20 bytes per second

Is a given url repeatedly dead slow to load? What I'm thinking is have a DOS box open and do a tracert whilst the problem is being exhibited.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

Quote from: newmillscomp
ip addresses are being resolved instantly

That could be local caching.
Open a dos box and do ipconfig/flushdns then try to ping or tracert somewhere you go regularly.
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

every url and i mean every is painfully slow to load.
But PN support tell me there is no problem - aye right
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 20 bytes per second

I presume you're phoning CSC, so whoever is on may need some re-training  Crazy
Get some tracert results, so that you have something concrete to chuck at them  Cheesy
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

still the same this morning. getting 1.6kbps from most sites.
have tried other dns settings but no different.
pretty cheesed off as have 4 customer PCs here and need software and updates downloaded last night.
newmillscomp
Grafter
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-12-2008

Re: 20 bytes per second

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
    Your DSL connection rate: 5824 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  832 kbps(UP-STREAM)
    IP profile for your line is - 4000 kbps
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 2 kbps
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: 20 bytes per second

Quote from: newmillscomp
every url and i mean every is painfully slow to load.
But PN support tell me there is no problem - aye right

They'll be referring to no known problems on our network, of which there were none.
Have you tried testing a different router to see if you continue to experience the same problem?
There doesn't appear to be any known issue at either your local exchange, our network, or your line from what I can see.