cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1G ethernet

ntownsend
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-08-2012

1G ethernet

I've always tried to keep wired devices wired where possible, to maximise the performance of the wifi. However, even that is beginning to show signs of capacity, without too many devices on. Ideally, the modem router would support 1g ethernet on its ports - can my tg582n be configured to do this?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: 1G ethernet

nope - pity isn't it
ntownsend
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-08-2012

Re: 1G ethernet

Indeed - is anyone expecting a modem from plusnet with (at least) one 1g ethernet port?
jim:quote
frank39
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎19-03-2009

Re: 1G ethernet

Won't a gigabit switch, at less than £25 for an eight port (when I last bought one), do what you need?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: 1G ethernet

Considerably less than that for a 5 port!
http://www.ebuyer.com/225791-tenda-5-port-gigabit-switch-g1005d
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
frank39
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎19-03-2009

Re: 1G ethernet

What unfortunate person has to turn those out at that price?  You could hardly buy the PSU for that - it's as bad as Primark.
davidj66
Rising Star
Posts: 632
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: 1G ethernet

And probably last as long as a Primark tee shirt Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: 1G ethernet

OK - how about one from a reputable manufacturer: http://www.ebuyer.com/411321-netgear-gs205-5-port-gigabit-ethernet-switch-gs205-100uks
Or for one in a metal case: http://www.ebuyer.com/52760-netgear-prosafe-gs105-5-port-gigabit-switch-gs105 still only £20. A warning about this one however - if you drop it it is likely to damage the floor - but the switch will be fine.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Re: 1G ethernet

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,336
Thanks: 1,893
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: 1G ethernet

Same here on the TP-Link and it just works fine.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)