cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

15db target... again

jg321
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-05-2015

15db target... again

Hi,
Since asking for interleaving to be enabled DLM has continued to increase my target margin despite relatively low error rates (less than 100 per day). It's now at 15db and of course the sync speed is low.
Could CRT please check and confirm the DLM stability option on my line? It needs to be Standard to prevent DLM being too aggressive.
Also, could the MTBE and ILQ please be provided - which may help explain why DLM is being so aggressive.
Thanks in advance.
JG
6 REPLIES
jg321
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-05-2015

Re: 15db target... again

Got this resolved on live chat.
Please pass on my thanks to the agent who dealt with it, although you may want to clarify to him that DLM upping the margin does indeed cause a resync  Smiley
Thanks,
jg321
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎27-02-2014

Re: 15db target... again

Can I ask why it raised to this target, had to be a good reason..... For months now it has giving me a solid 15db...... Had 6db for over a year and a half..... Unless this is a marketing trick by plusnet, fixing the DLM to set the SNR at a specific level.
Not sure what is going on, I left it at 15 as I couldn't be bothered with people blaming my end, as they tend to do.

Just curious, has it stayed at the SNR after the reset?
jg321
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-05-2015

Re: 15db target... again

I honestly don't know, it seems to go through periods of getting upset and upping the SNR. Voice line is clear, connection is stable and doesn't drop. Throughput is absolutely fine, so I can't see any reason.
Current stats:
Mode:                  ADSL2+
Channel:                Fast  <-- this is a lie!
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      5.9            10.2
Attn(dB):      40.5            19.7
Pwr(dBm):      0.0            13.0
Max(Kbps):      11292          888
Rate (Kbps):    9507            888
INP:            1.00            2.00
PER:            16.24          18.00
delay:          7.99            8.00
OR:            32.01          7.11
Bitswap:        1475            0
Previous experience has shown that the 6dB target probably won't stick. If/when it starts increasing, I'll try forcing to ADSL1 (G.DMT) to see if this helps. I'll keep you posted Smiley
I would add a speed-test result but currently still have a Plusnet profile of 5.1Mbps.
Edit to add KBD test results from live chat:
xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status: NTE Power Status: PowerOn Bypass Status:

Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 19.6 40.5
SNR Margin: 11.0 15.8
Errored Seconds: 0 0
HEC Errors: 0
Cell Count: 5349820 1507956
Speed: 888 5838

Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 7968 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 6374
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 86400 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 21600
Indicative Line Quality: G Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 452
jg321
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-05-2015

Re: 15db target... again

OK errors were racking up pretty rapidly on ADSL2+ at 6dB, so I decided to act sooner rather than later and force ADSL1:
# adslctl info --stats
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 1056 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8064 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                  G.DMT
Channel:                Interleave
Trellis:                ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      8.5            7.0
Attn(dB):      38.0            19.5
Pwr(dBm):      19.8            12.6
Max(Kbps):      8864            1236
Rate (Kbps):    8064            1056
                        G.dmt framing
K:              253(0)          34
R:              2              8
S:              1              4
D:              32              8
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:          1              1
B:              253            34
M:              1              4
T:              1              1
R:              2              8
S:              1.0078          4.2285
L:              2032            280
D:              32              8
                        Counters
SF:            5073            5013
SFErr:          2              0
RS:            344994          85221
RSCorr:        81              0
RSUnCorr:      1              0
HEC:            2              0
OCD:            0              0
LCD:            0              0
Total Cells:    1640800        0
Data Cells:    14936          0
Drop Cells:    0
Bit Errors:    0              0
ES:            2              0
SES:            0              0
UAS:            12              0
AS:            86
INP:            0.12            0.91
PER:            1.76            1.85
delay:          8.06            8.45
OR:            31.75          30.27
Bitswap:        0              0
Total time = 1 min 48 sec
SF  = 5073
CRC = 2
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
Latest 1 day time = 1 min 48 sec
SF  = 5073
CRC = 2
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 48 sec
SF  = 5073
CRC = 2
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 2
Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
SF  = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
SF  = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Showtime Drop Reason:  0
Last Retrain Reason:    0
#
Will keep an eye on it. Even if DLM ups the target to 9dB I'll still be able to get close to 8 meg sync which I'll be happy with if it stays there.
I'll keep this updated.
jg321
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-05-2015

Re: 15db target... again

Put the 582n back on the line in the early hours, still forced down to ADSL1:
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 9:08:58
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.056 / 8.064
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 15,40 / 169,26
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,7 / 19,9
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,5 / 35,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,0 / 9,4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 326 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 19 / 11.379
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 6 / 444
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 444 / 2.430
Lets see how this gets on. I'll not change anything else now.
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎27-02-2014

Re: 15db target... again

I was with Be Un Limited before PN. I know Be used their own DSLAMs, which wasn't really reliant on their DLM, I could hold a 3.5db for months - maybe it was racking up errors but at least I had over 1Mb/s.
Thing is, unless I fork out £30k to get my cabinet upgraded to FTTC, due to there are only ~40 premises connected, I'm stuck. 
Can't even get VM, due to the above reason. Not that I'd want to anyway.