cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why has a number been barred?

Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

why has a number been barred?

Hi
I am trying to call a UK landline number, and it says that the number is barred.
I do not have any Call Barring rules setup so can only assume it's some sort of global bar?!?!?!
the number starts 01753 - i do not want to put the rest of the number in here.
And advice appreciated.
R.
17 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 912
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

Probably incoming calls are barred by the owner of the number - I wasn't aware that you could selectively bar VOIP calls
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

I get a message saying call barred please contact your provider.
I can call this number fine from my landline, so I don't think it's the receivers end that's causing the problem.
I also get a line under recently barred calls on the PN voip web panel,
2012-01-27 12:20:22 Extension 65XXXXX 020XXXXXXXX 441753XXXXXX bar
2012-01-27 12:18:51 Extension 65XXXXX 020XXXXXXXX 441753XXXXXX bar
So it's definitely PN that's blocking the call.
Any comment from any member of PN staff?Huh
R.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 912
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

As Plusnet use Gradwell I believe this may be relevant http://www.gradwell.com/support/kb/article.php?id=252
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

I was just going to post that link JIm but you beat me to it.
@rigga, Can you call any UK landlines ? if not then check that the PSTN access box is checked for the extension ( its in the guide in the link )
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

Thanks for the suggestions, but I can call other UK landline numbers fine.
ans as I said previously I have no call barring rules setup.
Thanks for the help so far, anyone any other sugggestions.
R.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,345
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

I think the next step will be for another PN VoIP user to try dialling the same number. Perhaps you could send one of us the number by PM (having warned the destination to expect a test call).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

That's probably a good idea, however I would like a PN member of staff to look into it, If they want the number I can provide it.
Thanks for the suggestion.
R.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,258
Thanks: 432
Fixes: 39
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

You're probably best raising a 'ticket' to get PlusNet to look into it.
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

Ok will do that. Cheers.
R.
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

I wonder if they could possibly make it a little more difficult to raise a support ticket on the PN web site. It's ridiculous. R.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

I'm sure we could if we wanted to Wink
I'm sorry you found it a bit difficult - We have several different "workflows" within the call centre and it's important that your ticket reaches the right person first time, otherwise you would have to wait longer whilst it was passed to the right team.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,215
Thanks: 912
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

Quote from: Rigga
I wonder if they could possibly make it a little more difficult to raise a support ticket on the PN web site. It's ridiculous. R.
They did - you should have tried the old system the number of times you finished up going around in circles  Crazy
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

Are you releasing the VoIP number?
Rigga
Grafter
Posts: 57
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: why has a number been barred?

The number I called to get the bar? no not really..
It seems to be working now, which is good, and i've raised a support q. to find out what happened, as I really do not want it to happen again.
Thanks. R.