cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

jmshuff

So I bought broadband specifically to use skype.
Is this the right forum?
The problem is that skype works ok except when I try to include the video facility.
I run vista home basic and from what I read the spec should be ok for skype except I need a broadband speed of 256 for upload and I'm getting between 180 and 235.
Could this be the problem?
Has anyone experienced this?
Regards
Jim Walsh
11 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: skype

a)how long have you had this connection
b)take a look at his http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/IPprofile.htm to find your profile speed
c)Then this one to see the expected speeds http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/EABNT
If your profile is good enough you should get 300+ upload on any PN package
I am not an expert on Broadband phone, this is a paid service that is a lot different to skype
Community Veteran
Fixes: 40

We make significant use of Skype for communication between our UK and Netherland offices.
Voice works fine but we have never had a lot of success with video. We have a business ADSL line which gives us 832k upstream speed so it's not bandwidth on our connection that's the problem. In our experience you need a lot of CPU power for Skype video... and even then its a bit unreliable. 
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 5

I can echo what ianwarrilow says.  I've only ever played with Skype at work, which has a couple of 10Gb links.  Voice was easy to set up, but I never got video working.  I'm currently hammering my connection ftp'ing to one of my servers, and even so my speed test is:

If that's not enough upload bandwidth for Skype video, then we're all in trouble!
Phil
puddy
Grafter

Quote from: ianwarrilow
We make significant use of Skype for communication between our UK and Netherland offices.