cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

damadman
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 24-06-2008

Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Bought a zoom voip ata and am struggling to get it to work with plus.net
Tried looking at posts for similar units but cant find definitive answers.
Currently have another sip account setup and working fine with basically the same settings
router is netgear dg834 with no ports forwarded and no special rules.
maybe you could review the settings ive tried. see attachment.

10 REPLIES
RichSmol
Grafter
Posts: 709
Registered: 29-10-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

I'm not 100% savvy with this piece of kit but try sip2.plus.net in the 'auth domain' field and your 7 digit extension number in the Outbound caller ID name field. Im pretty sure someone else on these forums has this device as well so you may find im completely wrong!
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Again I'm like Rich that I have not used this kit but I believe the register Domain should be sip2.plus.net.
Also I can't see how the sip listening ports are specified. As this is your second account normally you will use 5062 instead of 5060, assuming that you are using 5060 on you first account.
damadman
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Thanks but no luck Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Can you post the working settings for your other sip account, we may then be able to work out the corresponding configuration for the plusnet account.
damadman
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

the settings are identical to what I've tried with the plus net account....
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Hi,
I eventually managed to find a reference guide for Zoom ATAs here http://forum.voxilla.com/other-hardware-software/zoom-5800-ata-config-help-17779.html
Looking at that can I suggest trying sip2.plus.net in the 'Subscribe Domain' field.
If that doesnt work then try disabling stun ( see this http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,65792.16.html
thread for similar problem albeit with different ATA.
Only Problem with disabling stun is that it may stop your other sip account working !!
Hope that helps ( although I am not too confident it will ) .
Let us know how it goes.
damadman
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Thanks but no joy Sad the stun server was disabled so I set it up to the usual plus net stun server.
subscribe domain made no difference.
The other account seems to work regardless of the other setings that i play with. It appears their settings are much more robust. ( I had similar problems before setting up on the software version of the phone.)
I also have to say that the zoom control panel is a very clumsy and poorly put together interface.....
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

One other possibility I've seen have an effect in the past ( see here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,65226.0.html ).
As in the post , try dropping the initial 4 from the front of your sip id in the 'Auth Username' field.
damadman
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 24-06-2008

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Smiley that did it.... though i had to drop the 4 from the sip user id and the auth user name.
Thanks. I never would have worked that one out.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,263
Thanks: 433
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Zoom VOIP ATA (5821)

Glad to hear we got you working !!
Maybe if Rich is lurking around here he can explain why dropping the 4 seems to work sometimes.