cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

X-Lite Lo-volume calling out

papasworld

X-Lite Lo-volume calling out

Hi, total newbie to the world of VoiP here but I thought I'd take advantage of the free minutes with my PlusNet broadband account.
Downloaded X-Lite and after finding the settings on the PlusNet help pages were actually wrong, I was able to make a call.
However, the recipient of the call complained about the volume of my voice.  It was very low and despite playing around with the mic settings, I couldn't seem to make any difference.  Am I missing something?  My gear is not very good - maybe it's that?  I've got a pretty cheap Trust microphone plugged into the microphone socket - should I be thinking about getting a more expensive USB type one?  Or should I go for a dedicated handset?  I don't want to spend a lot of money only to find it's wasted because it's currently the best quality I can get.  Am I wrong in expecting to make phone-quality calls through my computer?  Is it really worth all this hassle just for the sake of 240 free minutes a month?  Is X-Lite the right software for the job?    (Because it seems to be pretty ropey and very complicated for something I thought would be a simple job)
Thanks in advance
Mark
3 REPLIES
pcoventry
Grafter

Re: X-Lite Lo-volume calling out

Hi Mark, Welcome to the forums,
In which way are they wrong?. I use X-Lite version 2 and a fairly cheap and nasty headset yet i have no problem with incoming or outgoing volume
We have 2 systems, one in house which is currently called Broadband Phone. But we also have a trial of a better system from a company called Gradwell. As far as i know there are still places for people to join the trial. You can get the information and signup at http://trials.plus.net - and you'll get the same minutes as on your account already but seperate.

Pete
papasworld

Hi Pete
Thanks for replying.